#05 Filmmakers in their garden

Rose Lowder

201256 mn

Retour d’un repère (1979, 19 min)
The form of the film rests on a visual transposition of the structure of a “Pantoum”, a poetic form of Eastern origin that develops its rhythmic elements in a particular way.

Les Tournesols colorés (1983, 3 min)

In the field of sunflowers pieced together as a bouquet, the temporal superimposition and the tightly superposed shifting focal points at the heart of the motif create the effect of an impossible wind. (Nicole Brenez, Débordements.fr)

Bouquets 1-10 (1994-95, 12 min)
Bouquets 21-30 (2001-2005, 14 min)
Each one-minute film is a bouquet of images woven in-camera, blending the plants on site with activities happening at the time of shooting.

Sous le soleil (2011, 3 min)
In the heat of summer, the reflections of solar panels blend with butterflies on flowers and a small bird eating mulberries. 

Sources (2012, 5 min)
The gardener is surrounded by the springs of the river Aude, and one of the wellsprings of his recipes – the flowers and spices from his garden.

________________________________________________________________________

Rose Lowder conducts anti-illusionary research on optical phenomena and movements….In this economy of vibration, what does colour do? Violent, intense, its brilliance gathers up and absorbs part of the kinetic shimmering: here, it becomes a powerful force for stability, which is totally new in experimental cinema. This dialectisation of optical movement through a chromatic solidity takes both of them to a higher power and establishes Tournesols an evident and profound masterpiece. To extend her research on the strangeness of visual movements, Rose Lowder made another version of her film, titled Les Tournesols colorés (1983, 3’). It consists of the same shot but is  colour-graded in red or yellow, over- or under-exposed, in pale or saturated hues: this time colour reinforces the instability, it adds further visual movement but one that conjoins with the other movements rather than acting as their counterpoint. By contrast, the vibrant balance achieved by Les Tournesols appears in a monumental dimension.

Nicole Brenez (Couleur critique, Débordements.fr, 2012)

  • Rose Lowder’s filmmaking is closely linked to the way she handles her Bolex, the amateur camera which in her hands becomes an “instrument of visual research”. The camera is ecological as hands are all it needs to collect images at the rhythm of hand-cranked or frame-by-frame shots. Intertwining images in a movement that she likens to weaving more than editing, Rose Lowder records  photograms of flowers that she recomposes as bouquets of images for the screen. (Vincent Sorrel)
    ©
    PiritaSärmä

You might also be interested in

Margaret Tait

1981United Kingdom32 mn

Notes 1984, Part.3

Robert Huot
1984United States31 mn

Rolls : 1971

Robert Huot
1972United States97 mn

#05 Cinéaste en son jardin

Rose Lowder

201256 min

Retour d’un repère (1979, 19 min)
La forme du film repose sur une transposition visuelle de la structure des vers d’un «pantoum», figure poétique d’origine orientale, qui développe d’une manière particulière l’élément rythmique.

Les Tournesols colorés (1983, 3 min)
Dans le champ de tournesols ainsi recomposé comme un bouquet, la surimpression temporelle et l’intime superposition de net et de flou au cœur du motif créent l’effet d’un vent impossible. (Nicole Brenez, Débordements.fr)

Bouquets 1-10 (1994-95, 12 min)
Bouquets 21-30 (2001-2005, 14 min)
Chaque film d’une minute est un bouquet d’images tissées dans la caméra, mêlant les plantes se trouvant dans le lieu à des activités présentes au moment du tournage.

Sous le soleil (2011, 3 min)
Dans la chaleur de l’été les réflexions des panneaux solaires fondent avec les papillons sur les fleurs et un petit oiseau qui mange les mûres.

Sources (2012, 5 min)
Le jardinier est entouré des sources de la rivière Aude, et de l’une des sources de ses recettes, les fleurs et épices de son jardin.

_________________________________________________________________

Rose Lowder mène une recherche anti-illusionniste sur les phénomènes et les mouvements optiques. […] Dans cette économie de la vibration, que fait la couleur ? Violente, intense, son éclat recueille et absorbe une partie du scintillement cinétique : elle devient ici, de façon inédite dans le cinéma expérimental, un puissant facteur de stabilité. Cette dialectisation du mouvement optique par la fermeté chromatique les porte tous deux à une puissance supérieure et fait des Tournesols un chef d’œuvre aussi manifeste que profond. Pour prolonger sa recherche sur l’étrangeté des mouvements visuels, Rose Lowder a réalisé une autre version de son film, intitulée Les Tournesols colorés (1983, 3’). C’est donc le même plan, mais viré à l’étalonnage en rouge ou jaune, surexposé ou sousexposé, teinte tantôt lavée tantôt saturée : cette fois la couleur participe de l’instabilité, elle manifeste un mouvement visuel supplémentaire mais qui s’adjoint aux autres au lieu d’y faire contrepoint. Par contraste, l’équilibre vibrant atteint par Les Tournesols apparaît dans sa monumentalité.

Nicole Brenez (Couleur critique, Débordements.fr, 2012)

_________________________________________________________________
Lire Rose Lowder et sa caméra agricole de Vincent Sorrel

  • La pratique de Rose Lowder est intimement liée au maniement de sa Bolex, la caméra amateur devenant, dans ses mains, un « instrument de recherche visuelle ». La caméra est écologique parce qu’elle n’a besoin que de la main pour collecter des images au rythme de prises de vues tournées avec la manivelle ou image par image. Entremêlant les images dans un geste qu’elle rapproche plus du tissage que du montage, Rose Lowder saisit des photogrammes de fleurs qu’elle recompose en des bouquets d’images pour l’écran. (Vincent Sorrel)
    ©
    PiritaSärmä

Dans la même section

Margaret Tait

1981Royaume-Uni32 min

Et maintenant ?

Joaquim Pinto
2013Portugal164 min