#01 International Selection

Patrick

Luke Fowler

2020United Kingdom21 mn

Evocation of the life of the music producer Patrick Cowley, taking in the postindustrial charms of San Francisco’s now-gentrified South of Market district, once famous for its dance clubs and leather bars, as if searching for Cowley’s still-lingering energy.

____

The opening credit lays the name on a strip of sand lapped by sea foam – the name, Patrick, might as well have been hand-drawn there. On the square images, tinted orange by dawn or dusk, we hear the waves that create the foam and which roar increasingly loudly, but they are not waves, at least not waves of water. It is the beginning of the piece, “Sea of China”, written in 1980 by Patrick Cowley, a shooting star admired for his synthetic exploits in disco music, a composer for gay porn films, a brilliant musician who died from AIDS at the age of 32 – he was one of the first. The wave is in fact a cluster of waves that Cowley created with a modular synthesiser, and the film (lulled throughout by his music) gathers it up as though it had travelled from the 1970s to go back to the landscape where it was composed. The impressionist gesture that guides the splendid portraits created by Luke Fowler reveals all its power of invocation. In the places or objects filmed in San Francisco, where Cowley’s work was born, Patrick first tries to find the traces of a passing presence. This explains its penchant for words engraved in wood, graffiti or names in the sand, and the feeling of finding not so much memories in these places and objects, but more a residual wave, a discreet frequency amplified by the grain of 16-mm film and the words of Cowley’s close collaborator, Maurice Tani. After all, after inventing cinema, Edison spent the rest of his life trying to trap spirit voices.

Jérôme Momcilovic

  • Scottish artist, filmmaker and musician Luke Fowler (b.1978) has developed a practice that is, at the same time, singular and collaborative, poetic and political, structural and documentary, archival and deeply human. With an emphasis on communities of people, outward thinkers and the history of the left, his 16mm films tell the stories of alternative movements in Britain, from psychiatry to photography to music to education. Whilst some of his early films dealt with music and musicians as subjects, in later works sound itself becomes a key concern. (Maria Palacios Cruz)
    © Margaret Salmon

Production, cinematography, sound, editing : Luke Fowler
Music : Patrick Cowley - courtesy of Dark Entries Records
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Figure Minus Fact

Mary Helena Clark
2020United States13 min

Rock Bottom Riser

Fern Silva
2021United States70 mn

FREIZEIT or: the opposite of doing nothing

Caroline Pitzen
2021Germany71 mn

#01 Sélection internationale

Patrick

Luke Fowler

2020Royaume-Uni21 min

Évocation de la vie du producteur musical Patrick Cowley avec pour toile de fond le charme postindustriel de South of Market, un quartier gentrifié de San Francisco autrefois célèbre pour ses discothèques et ses bars gays, comme une sorte de quête pour retrouver l’énergie de Cowley qui subsisterait encore en ces lieux.

_____

Le générique dépose le prénom sur une bande de sable, frôlée par l’écume – on aurait aussi bien pu y dessiner ce prénom, Patrick, avec la main. Sur les images carrées, oranges d’aube ou de crépuscule, on entend les vagues qui sont la cause de l’écume et qui grondent de plus en plus fort, mais ce ne sont pas des vagues, du moins pas des vagues d’eau. C’est le début d’un morceau, « Sea of China », écrit en 1980 par Patrick Cowley, météore adulé pour ses prouesses synthétiques au service du disco, compositeur pour films porno gay, musicien génial mort à 32 ans du Sida – il fut l’un des premiers. La vague, c’est donc une poignée d’ondes travaillées par Cowley dans un synthétiseur modulaire, et le film (intégralement bercé par sa musique) la recueille comme si elle avait fait le voyage depuis les années 1970 pour retrouver le paysage où elle fut composée. Le geste impressionniste qui guide les beaux portraits réalisés par Luke Fowler révèle ici tout son pouvoir d’invocation. Dans les lieux ou les objets filmés à San Francisco, où est née l’œuvre de Cowley, Patrick cherche d’abord les traces d’un passage. Cela explique son goût des mots gravés dans le bois, des graffitis ou des prénoms dans le sable, et le sentiment de trouver moins, dans ces lieux et ces objets, des souvenirs qu’une onde résiduelle, une fréquence discrète amplifiée par le grain du 16 mm et les mots de Maurice Tani, proche collaborateur de Cowley. Après tout, Edison, ayant inventé le cinéma, avait passé le reste de sa vie à essayer de fixer la voix des esprits.

Jérôme Momcilovic

  • Luke Fowler, né en 1978, est un artiste, réalisateur et musicien écossais ayant élaboré un art à la fois singulier et collaboratif, poétique et politique, structural et documentaire, qui possède une dimension d’archivage tout en restant profondément humain. Ses films en 16 mm, qui s’intéressent tout particulièrement aux communautés de personnes, aux penseurs marginaux et à l’histoire de la gauche, retracent l’histoire des mouvements alternatifs en Grande-Bretagne, de la psychiatrie à la photographie, en passant par la musique et l’éducation. Si certains de ses premiers films avaient comme sujet la musique et les musiciens, c’est le son en lui-même qui est devenu un thème central de ses œuvres plus récentes. (Maria Palacios Cruz)
    © Margaret Salmon

Production, image, son, montage : Luke Fowler
Musique : Patrick Cowley - courtesy of Dark Entries Records
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Odoriko

Yoichiro Okutani
2020Japon, États-Unis, France114 min

Figure Minus Fact

Mary Helena Clark
2020États-Unis13 min

Landscapes of Resistance

Marta Popivoda
2021France, Serbie, Allemagne95 min