#06 Popular Front(s) - What use are citizens?

Who Is Afraid of Ideology ? (Part. I, II, III)

Marwa Arsanios

2017-2020Lebanon, Kurdistan, Syria, Colombia81 mn

Reasserting the fundamentals of life against machineries of capitalist exploitation is the core of today’s anti-colonial struggle for wider social and political change. In places such as Northern Syria and Colombia women claim the right to the land and to reconnect with nature in an unmediated way. Self-defense, eco-feminism, ownership, healing, resisting state control, autonomy, collectivity, indigenous struggle, seed protection, and land rights define the common ground of women who are resisting extractivist industries.

Who is Afraid of Ideology? Part I (2017) and Part 2 (2019) are shaped around interviews the artist made with members of the Kurdish Autonomous Women’s Movement in Iraqi Kurdistan and Jinwar, a women-only commune in northern Syria, exploring the possibilities of a political praxis based on an existence close to nature and within armed struggle. While producing the films, Arsanios organized different meetings with women farmers and ecological feminists from Syria, Lebanon, Colombia, Mexico, India, Poland, Denmark, and Greece to exchange knowledge around their cooperatives and communes.

Part III draws from these intense exchanges and footage partly filmed in the south of Tolima in Colombia, focusing on the ongoing systemic war waged by transnational corporations against the smallest and the most essential element of life—the seed. The last film in the trilogy connects the violent history of murder and purge to the seed guardians.

Ovul Durmusoglu (Biennale Berlin)

Production : Mor-Charpentier
Cinematography : Mazen Hachem, Juma Hamdo
Sound, editing : Katrin Ebersohn
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

#06 Front(s) Populaire(s) - À quoi servent les citoyens ?

Who Is Afraid of Ideology ? (Part. I, II, III)

Marwa Arsanios

2017-2020Liban, Kurdistan, Syrie, Colombie81 min

La réaffirmation des fondamentaux de l’existence face aux mécanismes de l’exploitation capitaliste se trouve au cœur de la lutte anticoloniale actuelle militant pour des transformations socio-politiques à grande échelle. Dans certaines régions telles que le nord de la Syrie et la Colombie, les femmes revendiquent l’accès à la terre et un lien à la nature renouvelé et exempt d’intermédiaire. L’autodéfense, l’écoféminisme, la propriété terrienne, le ressourcement, la résistance au contrôle étatique, l’autonomie, la collectivité, les luttes indigènes, la protection des graines et les droits agraires représentent la base commune de ces femmes qui résistent aux activités extractives.

Les deux premiers volets de Who is Afraid of Ideology ? (2017 pour la première partie, 2019 pour la deuxième) sont construits autour d’entretiens que l’artiste a réalisés avec des membres du Mouvement autonome des femmes kurdes dans le Kurdistan iraquien, à Jinwar, une communauté exclusivement féminine dans le nord de la Syrie. L’œuvre s’intéresse aux possibilités d’une pratique politique basée sur une existence au contact de la nature tout en poursuivant la lutte armée. Tandis qu’elle réalisait ces films, Arsanios a organisé différentes réunions avec des agricultrices et des féministes écologistes d’origines syrienne, libanaise, colombienne, mexicaine, indienne, polonaise, danoise et grecque, afin de partager les savoir-faire entre les différentes coopératives et communautés.

La troisième partie se base sur les intenses entretiens et séquences filmés en partie dans le sud du Tolima, en Colombie, et se concentre sur la guerre systématique et incessante que les multinationales livrent à l’élément le plus petit et le plus essentiel de la vie : la graine. Le dernier film de la trilogie oppose l’histoire violente du meurtre et de l’épuration à celle des protectrices des graines.

Ovul Durmusoglu (Biennale Berlin)

Production : Mor-Charpentier
Image : Mazen Hachem, Juma Hamdo
Son, montage : Katrin Ebersohn
Press Kit

Dans la même section

A lua platz

Jérémy Gravayat
2018France97 min

Pour une hospitalité manifeste

Transmettre l’histoire, par le cinéma, des « fronts populaires » de l’hospitalité civile.