#05 Filmmakers in their garden

When the Persimmons Grew

Hilal Baydarov

2019Azerbaijan/Austria118 mn

Immobile in a home where the sands of time fall to the rhythm of rural Azerbaijani sounds, a mother waits for her son. When he arrives, their conversations circle around existential questions and news from afar, troubling and cryptic. Unrest cloaks the world outside.
When the primroses were turning red, and the white cherries were in bloom“—that is when my grandmother says the war ended. She talks about time the way people did in olden days, before the calendar divided it up into days, months, and years. When time had no name and was not measured in numbers, it was marked by the rhythms of nature. My father was born „when the rivers overflowed and the grass was harvested,“ says my grandmother, meaning my father was born in June. Exact dates mattered less than durations which nature filled with meaning. Time was not a line. It ebbed and flowed with the seasons, was shaped by the lifecycles of the flora and fauna. The title of my film, When Persimmons Grew, pays homage to this traditional way of denoting time. People were coming and going from my family back then. We gathered together, and we broke apart. We grew up, and set about living our own lives. Everything was changing and becoming more colorfull, for all except my mother, whom time left alone. I left home then and returned eight years later—when the persimmons grew.

(Hilal Baydarov)

  • Fascinated by the mystery of gestures, Baydarov films the bodies of his loved ones like a sort of sublime choreography of the day-to-day. He thus presents the intimacy in which he tackles the harrowing sentiment of having abandoned his house, his family and the land on which he grew up. Baydarov thus delivers his version of a return to the roots, the frozen time of a summer in the village. (Elena López Riera, Visions du réel)

Production : Ucqar Film, Subobscura Films
Cinematography, sound, editing : Hilal Baydarov
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Le Point Aveugle

Sophie Roger
2012France28 mn

L’Île déserte

Sophie Roger
2014France21 mn

#05 Cinéaste en son jardin

When the Persimmons Grew

Hilal Baydarov

2019Azerbaïdjan/Autriche118 min

Immobile dans une maison où le sable du temps s’égrène au rythme des bruits de la campagne azerbaïdjanaise, une mère attend son fils. Lorsqu’il arrive, leur conversation tourne autour des questions existentielles et de nouvelles lointaines, troublantes et mystérieuses. L’agitation enveloppe le monde extérieur.

« À la saison où les primevères rougissent et où les cerisiers fleurissent » : c’est ainsi que ma grand-mère décrit l’époque où la guerre prit fin. Elle parle du temps comme le faisaient les gens jadis, avant que le calendrier ne soit divisé en jours, en mois, en années. Quand le temps n’avait pas de nom et n’était pas mesuré par les nombres, il était réglé par les rythmes de la nature. Mon père est né « quand les rivières débordent et que l’herbe est fauchée », dit ma grand-mère, c’est-à-dire qu’il est né en juin. Les dates précises comptaient moins que les durées, auxquelles la nature donnait du sens. Le temps n’était pas une ligne continue. Il avait son flux et son reflux, selon les saisons ; il était façonné par les cycles naturels de la faune et de la flore. Le titre de mon film, « à la saison des kakis », rend hommage à cette façon traditionnelle de nommer le temps. À une époque, les personnes allaient et venaient dans ma famille. Nous nous rassemblions, nous nous séparions. Nous grandissions, et puis nous nous sommes mis à vivre nos propres vies. Tout changeait, tout devenait plus coloré, pour tout le monde sauf pour ma mère, que le temps laissa seule. J’ai quitté le foyer familial et y suis retourné huit ans plus tard – à la saison des kakis. (Hilal Baydarov)

  • Fasciné par le mystère des gestes, Baydarov filme les corps de ses proches comme une sorte de chorégraphie sublime du quotidien. Il donne ainsi à voir l’intimité dans laquelle il se confronte au sentiment déchirant d’avoir abandonné sa maison, sa famille et la terre où il a grandi. Baydarov livre ainsi sa version du retour aux racines, le temps suspendu d’un été au village. (Elena López Riera, Visions du réel)

Production : Ucqar Film, Subobscura Films
Image, son, montage : Hilal Baydarov
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Margaret Tait

1981United Kingdom32 mn

L’Île déserte

Sophie Roger
2014France21 mn