#02 French Selection

VENICE BEACH, CA.

Marion Naccache

2021France79 mn

Dawn in Venice Beach, California. Every morning, the homeless living by the beach wake up and have to tidy up the space where they spend the night. As the sun slowly rises, their voices express their views of the world. Every morning, as in a Sisyphean play, it looks as if nothing has changed. Every morning, little by little, the neighbourhood by the sea they call home and the country are changing in strange and terrifying ways.

____

From the remarks she gathered from the homeless people living in Venice, Los Angeles, Marion Naccache chooses not to keep the factual data – their life course, living conditions – but rather the way that each of them perceives the world surrounding them. Its dimensions vary depending on the person. First comes the immediate environment, the postcard landscape with its immense sky, ocean and palm trees. They talk about the myths and stories surrounding the birth of this former “seaside ghetto” founded by Abbot Kinney in the early 20th century along the lines of the Italian city, now squatted by Snapchat employees. Some mention the election of Donald Trump, the Native Americans’ struggle and Alaska’s melting glaciers, but then the scale broadens out to the point of pushing back the limits of human perception. The question of meaning arises here more than elsewhere. Each constructs their own religion: there is talk of teleportation, lucid dreams that teach them to fly, and Satan. And because the voices are disconnected from the bodies carrying them, they finally seem to resemble the spirit of a place that Marion Naccache films in wide-angle, static and repeated shots. Over the lapse of a single story, night unexpectedly turns to day, as if we ourselves were slipping into the landscape and taking on another perception of time. Yet, the world continues to race by without regard for what is imagined here. Every morning, between 5 and 9 o’clock, the same ballet is repeated: everyone takes their place for the day, so that nothing will change.

Olivia Cooper-Hadjian

  • Marion Naccache lives and works between Paris and Rio de Janeiro. She studied contemporary poetry at École Normale Supérieure de Lyon. In 2008, she starts composing video essays that have been shown in several contemporary art institutions (Miami Basel, Southard Reid Gallery, London; Laboratoires d’Aubervilliers, Gulbenkian Foundation, Paris) and poetry venues (Chelsea Hotel, Festival PAN!, Nioques, OEI, Labia Gentil). CONEY ISLAND, (last summer), 2010, her first feature documentary film, has been presented in international film festivals (Miami, Entrevues Belfort, Rio de Janeiro). The film observes one summer, which was supposed to be the last one, of the amusement park and starts a series of movies about urban beaches which develop a contemplative form of observation based on time, distance and repetition to look at the world at a different pace. VENICE BEACH, CA., her second feature film, continues that dispositive and takes it further.

Production : Marion Naccache, Ailton Franco Jr., Franco Filmes & Produções, Jérome Czapka, Pikel, Franck Leibovici
Cinematography : Marion Naccache
Sound : Marion Naccache, Matthew Anderson
Editing : Marion Naccache, Isabela Monteiro de Castro
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Kindertotenlieder

Virgil Vernier
2021France27 mn

Un mal sous son bras

Marie Ward
2021France16 mn

Living with Imperfection

Antoine Polin
2020France66 mn

#02 Sélection française

VENICE BEACH, CA.

Marion Naccache

2021France79 min

Venice Beach, en Californie, à l’aube. Tous les matins, les sans domiciles fixes qui habitent le bord de mer de Venice se réveillent et doivent immédiatement ranger leurs affaires et quitter l’endroit où ils ont passé la nuit. Tous les matins, alors que le soleil se lève lentement, comme dans une pièce de théâtre sisyphienne, rien ne change. Tous les matins, petit à petit, le quartier balnéaire qui leur tient lieu de maison mais aussi le pays changent de façon étrange et effrayante.

___

Des propos qu’elle a recueillis auprès de personnes vivant à la belle étoile à Venice, Los Angeles, Marion Naccache ne retient pas tant les données factuelles – parcours de vie, conditions d’existence – que la façon dont chacun perçoit l’univers qui l’entoure. Les dimensions de celui-ci varient selon les individus. Il s’agit d’abord d’un environnement immédiat, ce paysage de carte postale avec son vaste ciel, son océan et ses palmiers. On livre des mythes et récits entourant la naissance de l’ancien « ghetto de bord de mer » fondé par Abbot Kinney au début du vingtième siècle sur le modèle d’une certaine ville italienne, désormais squatté par les employés de Snapchat. Certains évoquent l’élection de Donald Trump, les luttes amérindiennes et la fonte des glaciers d’Alaska, avant que l’échelle ne s’élargisse plus encore, jusqu’à repousser les limites de la perception humaine. La question du sens se pose ici plus qu’ailleurs. Chacun fabrique sa propre religion : il est question de téléportation, de rêves lucides permettant d’apprendre à voler et de Satan. Et parce que les voix sont disjointes des corps qui les portent, elles finissent par s’apparenter à l’esprit d’un lieu que Marion Naccache saisit dans des plans larges, fixes et répétés. Pendant un même témoignage, la nuit succède inopinément au jour, comme si nous nous mettions nous aussi à faire partie du paysage et à aborder une autre perception du temps. Pourtant, la course du monde se poursuit sans égard pour ce qui s’imagine ici. Tous les matins, entre 5h et 9h, un même ballet se répète : chacun reprend sa place pour la journée, afin que rien ne change.

Olivia Cooper-Hadjian

  • Marion Naccache vit et travaille entre Paris et Rio de Janeiro. Ancienne élève de l’École Normale Supérieure de Lyon, elle y a étudié la poésie contemporaine. En 2008, elle commence à réaliser des essais vidéos qui sont montrés dans plusieurs institutions d’art contemporain (Miami Basel, Southard Reid Gallery, London; Laboratoires d’Aubervilliers, Gulbenkian Foundation, Paris) et de poésie (Chelsea Hôtel, Festival PAN!, Nioques, OEI, Labia Gentil). CONEY ISLAND (last summer), 2010, son premier long métrage documentaire, est présenté dans des festivals internationaux de cinéma (Miami, Entrevues Belfort, Rio de Janeiro). Il observe le dernier été annoncé du parc d’attraction new-yorkais et débute une série de films sur les plages urbaines qui déploient une forme d’observation contemplative fondée sur le temps, la distance et la répétition permettant de regarder le monde à un rythme différent. VENICE BEACH, CA., son second long métrage, poursuit ce dispositif et le pousse plus loin. 

Production : Marion Naccache, Ailton Franco Jr., Franco Filmes & Produções, Jérome Czapka, Pikel, Franck Leibovici
Image : Marion Naccache
Son : Marion Naccache, Matthew Anderson
Montage : Marion Naccache, Isabela Monteiro de Castro
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Ivre de soule

Skander Mestiri
2021France29 mn

Baleh-baleh

Pascale Bodet
2021France51 mn