#02 French Selection

Un monde flottant

Jean-Claude Rousseau

2020France56 mn

Between rain and clearer spells, in the footsteps of Ozu in today’s Japan, people met, wordless encounters… Also some seismic events, a trembling of the ground which does not interrupt the course of the film. And just for the sake of a story: a forgotten umbrella in a hotel room.

____

Don’t let poverty stare you in the face, but rather let yourself drift like a gourd floating on the river. This is how the 17th-century Japanese poet Asai Ryoi described the present-day sense of the floating world (ukiyo) concept, encouraging his reader to abandon any hope of reward in the hereafter and enjoy the pleasures of the present moment. In his film, Jean-Claude Rousseau responds to this call. He writes, for instance, in Les Draps pliés du grand lit recently published by Éditions de l’Œil: “Nothing in the future is more certain than death. The most perfect, the most definitive certainty. And yet, thought vacillates when faced with death; being sure of this offers us no reassurance.” Subtitled “Sketches and Drawings”, this third film shot in Japan, after Arrière-saison and So Far, So Close (2016), openly draws on the pictorial tradition of ukiyo-e. We recognise Hokusai in his multiple views of Mount Fuji, or Hiroshige with his enchanting landscapes populated by tiny characters, Nara wood where stags with mutilated antlers bellow, bridges suspended over ponds for the photo of young newly-weds. Similarly, the film’s structure remains faithful to the Tokaido Road, which gave genre painting its motifs, placing views of distant cities along the railway lines, as fleeting as a breath of air, edited as an eye blink. But clearly, Un monde flottant is fully part of a more basic and direct relationship to art. The vivacity of the line, the taste for chronicling, the gaiety and anxiety, the acquiescence to the impermanence of things that appears in the accidental or deliberate movements causing bodies and images to falter, and which gives them their true justification. “No need to create without imbalance”; “creation, in art, is simply a series of reinstatements”. 

Antoine Thirion

  • Born in Paris, Jean-Claude Rousseau lived in New York in the 1970s. where he discovered avant-garde cinema as well as the films of Ozu. In 1980, he finished writing the script for Le Concert champêtre and made his first films. After Les Antiquités de Rome, La Vallée close is his second feature-length film. This was screened at the  Locarno film festival and then awarded the Grand Prix for documentary at Belfort festival in 1999. In 2001, the Venice Mostra paid tribute to him, followed by a retrospective at the Jeon Ju festival. De son appartement was awarded the International Competition Grand Prix at the 2007  FidMarseille. That same year, the Villa Medicis welcomed him in Rome for a full screening of all his films.

Production, cinematography, sound, editing : Jean-Claude Rousseau
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Foedora

Judith Abensour
2021France80 mn

Random Patrol

Yohan Guignard
2020France30 mn

Avant que le ciel n’apparaisse

Denis Gheerbrant
2021France85 min

#02 Sélection française

Un monde flottant

Jean-Claude Rousseau

2021France56 min

Entre pluie et éclaircies, sur les pas d’Ozu dans le Japon d’aujourd’hui, des figures croisées, des rencontres sans paroles… Aussi quelques secousses, un tremblement du sol qui n’interrompt pas le cours du film. Et juste pour faire histoire : l’oubli d’un parapluie dans une chambre d’hôtel.

_____

Ne pas laisser transparaître la pauvreté sur son visage, mais se laisser plutôt dériver comme une calebasse sur la rivière. Ainsi l’écrivain japonais Asai Ryoi décrivait-il au dix-septième siècle l’acception moderne du concept de monde flottant (ukiyo), encourageant son lecteur à abandonner l’espoir d’une récompense dans l’au-delà et à se saisir des plaisirs du présent. Jean-Claude Rousseau répond ici à cet appel, lui qui écrit par exemple dans Les Draps pliés du grand lit récemment paru aux éditions de l’Œil : « Rien de l’avenir n’est plus sûr que la mort. La plus parfaite, la plus définitive certitude. Et cependant la pensée vacille devant la mort ; en être assuré ne nous rassure pas. » Sous-titré « esquisses et croquis », ce troisième film tourné au Japon après Arrière-saison et Si loin, si proche (2016)puise sans mystère dans la tradition picturale de l’ukiyo-e. On pourra ainsi reconnaître Hokusai dans ses multiples vues du mont Fuji, ou Hiroshige dans ses paysages enchanteurs peuplé de petits personnages, bois de Nara où brament des cerfs aux bois mutilés, ponts suspendus au-dessus d’étangs pour la photo des jeunes mariés. De même, la structure du film reste fidèle à la route du Tokaïdo qui a fourni au genre ses motifs, accordant le long de lignes ferroviaires des vues de villes distantes, brèves comme un souffle, montées comme des battements de paupière. Mais c’est évidemment d’une relation plus essentielle et directe à l’art qu’Un monde flottant participe pleinement. Vivacité du trait, goût de la chronique, allégresse et inquiétude, un assentiment à l’impermanence des choses qui transparaît dans ces mouvements accidentels ou délibérés qui font vaciller les corps et les images, et qui leur donnent leur véritable justification. « Pas de nécessité à créer sans déséquilibre » ; « la création, en art, n’est qu’une suite de rétablissements ».

Antoine Thirion

  • Jean-Claude Rousseau, né à Paris, vit à New York dans les années 70. Il y découvre le cinéma d’avant garde en même temps que les films d’Ozu. En 1980 il termine l’écriture d’un scénario, Le Concert champêtre, et réalise ses premiers films. Après Les Antiquités de Rome, La Vallée close est son deuxième long métrage. Sélectionné par le festival de Locarno, il obtient le grand prix du documentaire à Belfort en 1999. En 2001 un hommage lui est rendu à la Mostra de Venise, suivi d’une rétrospective au festival de Jeon Ju. De son appartement reçoit le Grand Prix de la compétition internationale au FidMarseille en 2007. La même année, la Villa Medicis l’accueille à Rome pour un programme complet de ses films.

Production, image, son, montage : Jean-Claude Rousseau
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Random Patrol

Yohan Guignard
2021France30 min

Corps Samples

Astrid de la Chapelle
2021France14 min

Incandescence des hyènes

Nicolas Matos Ichaso
2021France54 min