#02 French Selection

Tënk Short Film Award 2021

Un mal sous son bras

Marie Ward

2021France16 mn

At night, a group of men gather on the stadium of an elite school they once attended. Some of them are the  big winners in this new society. Colonists on their own land, they look away so as not to see the gangrene that is growing there.

____

The swollen carcass of a cow floats in the sea near the chic neighbourhoods of Beirut. Under the influence of a mysterious spell, men interrupt their training session to meet in the woods. A hail storm shatters the city’s glass façades – you might mistakenly think that it is the explosion of 4th August 2020 as the images and violence of the blast are so similar. What curse, what punishment, what supernatural anger have fallen on Lebanon? The evil is perhaps in truth a godsend. Marie Ward invents the enigmatic thread of a tale to evoke the history of the coast and the way in which French colonialism has distorted Lebanese culture and traditions. A broad-brush evocation of course. Because, while this film, like the installation it was part of, is based on rigorous research into the late 19th-century virile naval parades and the construction of power loci that imposed French dominance by radically changing pre-existing social ties, it also takes the opportunity to turn these power relations on their head, liberate a deeply repressed imaginary, bring to light ordinary desires smothered by the latent violence of normality. Closely following the winding coastal roads; moving up to the highland before a precipitous descent, Un mal sous son bras finds the straight path once again, skilfully and with great finesse: the path that short-circuits shame and takes us back to the most ancient images. 

Antoine Thirion

  • Graduated from the Paris School of Decorative Arts in September 2020. Works with the image and volume.
    Recent years have been driven by the desire to understand the mechanisms through which a country or a community ends up dominating another. What are the consequences? How are identities born and transformed in these relationships of domination?
    Although history is not to be looked at from on high, we often enter there through the large collective gate. Yet, little intrigues are sometimes more telling than the paintings of the great legend. Then we have to rummage around, dissect, place the characters in their sentient environment, record simple gestures…

Editing, production : Marie Ward
Cinematography : Sacha Lévêque, Louise Fauroux, Marie Ward
Sound : Victoria Assas, Vincent Domenet
Original music : Victoria Assas
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Random Patrol

Yohan Guignard
2020France30 mn

Un monde flottant

Jean-Claude Rousseau
2020France56 mn

Ivre de soule

Skander Mestiri
2021France29 mn

#02 Sélection française

Prix du court métrage Tënk 2021

Un mal sous son bras

Marie Ward

2021France16 min

Le soir, un groupe d’hommes se réunit sur le stade d’une école d’élite qu’ils ont autrefois  fréquentée. Certains d’entre eux sont les grands gagnants de cette société nouvelle. Colons  sur leurs propres terres, ils détournent les yeux pour ne pas voir la gangrène qui s’y forme.

____

Le cadavre ballonné d’une vache flotte au large des quartiers chics de Beyrouth. Sous l’influence d’un mystérieux sortilège, des hommes interrompent leur entraînement pour se retrouver dans les bois. Une tempête de grêle fait voler en éclats les façades de verre de la ville – on croit à tort qu’il s’agit de l’explosion du 4 août 2020 tant les images et la violence de la déflagration sont similaires. Quelle malédiction, quel châtiment, quelle colère surnaturelle s’abattent ainsi sur le Liban ? Le mal est peut-être en vérité une aubaine. Marie Ward invente la trame sibylline d’un conte pour évoquer l’histoire du littoral et la manière dont l’ingérence coloniale française a dévoyé la culture et les mœurs libanaises. Évocation à grands traits bien sûr, car si ce film, de même que l’installation dont il fut un élément, reposent sur une recherche rigoureuse sur les parades navales viriles de la fin du dix-neuvième siècle et la construction de lieux de pouvoir qui imposèrent cette puissance française en modifiant en profondeur les rapports sociaux qui lui préexistaient, il y voit aussi l’occasion de renverser ces rapports de force, libérer un imaginaire fermement refoulé, mettre au jour des désirs ordinaires étouffés par la violence latente de la normalité. Épousant les routes sinueuses du littoral dans un mouvement qui monte vers les hauteurs et redescend avec précipitation, Un mal sous son bras retrouve, à sa façon pleine de ruse et de finesse, le droit chemin : celui qui court-circuite la honte et ramène aux images les plus anciennes.

Antoine Thirion

____

Lire l’entretien avec la réalisatrice sur le blog Mediapart de Cinéma du réel

  • Diplômée des Arts Décoratifs de Paris en septembre 2020. Pratique de l’image et du volume.
    Ces dernières années ont été animées par le désir de comprendre par quels rouages un pays ou une communauté en vient à en dominer un.e autre – quelles sont leurs conséquences – et comment naissent et se transforment les identités dans le cadre des ces rapports de dominations.
    Si l’histoire n’est pas à regarder de haut, on y entre souvent par la grande porte collective. Toutefois, les petites intrigues sont parfois plus parlantes que les tableaux de la grande légende. Il s’agit alors de fouiller, de décortiquer, d’inscrire les personnages dans leur environnement sensible, d’enregistrer les gestes simples.

Production, montage : Marie Ward
Image : Sacha Lévêque, Louise Fauroux, Marie Ward
Son : Victoria Assas, Vincent Domenet
Réalisation musicale : Victoria Assas
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Foedora

Judith Abensour
2021France80 mn

Corps Samples

Astrid de la Chapelle
2021France14 mn

Saxifrages, quatre nuits blanches

Nicolas Klotz et Elisabeth Perceval
2021France74 min