#01 International Selection

Grand Prize Cinéma du réel 2021

The Inheritance

Ephraim Asili

2020United States100 mn

The histories of the West Philadelphia–based MOVE Organization, and the Black Arts Movement, woven with dramatizations of the life of the filmmaker when he was a member of a Black activist collective. Centering on what Asili describes as a “speculative reenactment” of his time in a West Philadelphia collective, the actors scripted lives on set are entwined with cameos by MOVE’s Debbie Africa, Mike Africa Sr., and Mike Africa Jr., and poet-activists Sonia Sanchez and Ursula Rucker.

_____

What inheritance does Ephraim Asili’s first feature-length film present? The answer is given from the outset: it is a heavy trunk that opens onto a treasure trove of books – Alice Walker, James Baldwin, Charles Mingus, Malcolm X. It is a series of records on which the voices of black struggles have been engraved – W.E.B Du Bois, Angela Davis, Margaret Walker. Above all, it is a whole house in the western suburbs of Philadelphia, which Julian (Eric Lockley) inherits after his grandmother’s death and where he invites his ex-girlfriend Gwen (Nozipho McLean) to come and live. Then, as a snowball effect sets in, others come to join them, forming a community dubbed the House of Ubuntu. Asili gives this fictional beginning as pragmatic note as possible, rejecting the screenwriting tricks in favour of the logic of a speculative re-enactment, inspired by the experience of a black Marxist collective. Not without some self-derision, the rest of the film focusses on inventing the rules of community life, furnishing and decorating the house, making music and smoothies, reading revolutionary texts and poetry. Above all, linking up with other stories, other struggles, other times, other writings, other practices. So our actors become the audience for performer  playing themselves – for example, poets Sonia Sanchez and Ursula Rucker, or the survivors of MOVE, a Philadelphia-based black community founded in the 1970s and brutally persecuted by the police. The question of inheritance, as we see, is precisely one that seeks to remarry theory and practice, fiction and reality, the inside and outside. A fiction to set the experimental frame of a political exploration; a house to catalyse past struggles in the present.

Antoine Thirion

  • Ephraim Asili is a New York City–based filmmaker, DJ, and radio presenter. He studied film and video arts, earning his BA from Temple University and MA from Bard College, where he is now full-time artist-in-residence and assistant professor of film and electronic arts. His works as director include the shorts Forged Way (2010), About Being Living (2010), Kinda/One Family (2016), and Fluid Frontiers (2017). The Inheritance (20) is his debut feature film.

Production : Victoria Brooks, Ephraim Asili
Cinematography : Ephraim Asili, Ryan Jenkin
Sound : Stephen McLaughlin
Editing : Ephraim Asili
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Figure Minus Fact

Mary Helena Clark
2020United States13 min

earthearthearth

Daïchi Saïto
2021Canada30 mn

Les Prières de Delphine

Rosine Mbakam
2021Belgium, Cameroon90 mn

#01 Sélection internationale

Grand Prix Cinéma du réel 2021

The Inheritance

Ephraim Asili

2020États-Unis100 min

Les histoires respectives de l’organisation MOVE, fondée à West Philadelphia, et du Black Arts Movement s’entrelacent avec des dramatisations de la vie du réalisateur à l’époque où celui-ci était membre d’un collectif d’activistes noir. En s’articulant autour de ce qu’Asili a pu décrire comme une « reconstitution spéculative » de son expérience dans un collectif de West Philadelphia, les vies scénarisées des acteurs sur le plateau sont entrecoupées par des interventions de membres de MOVE (Debbie Africa, Mike Africa Sr et Mike Africa Jr) et de poètes-activistes (Sonia Sanchez et Ursula Rucker).

_____

De quoi le premier long métrage d’Ephraim Asili présente-t-il l’héritage ? Une réponse est donnée d’emblée : c’est une lourde malle qui s’ouvre sur un trésor de livres – Alice Walker, James Baldwin, Charles Mingus, Malcolm X. C’est une série de pochettes de disques où ont été gravées les voix des luttes noires  – W.E.B Du Bois, Angela Davis, Margaret Walker. C’est surtout une maison entière dans les quartiers ouest de Philadelphie, que Julian (Eric Lockley) reçoit après le décès de sa grand-mère et où il invite son ex Gwen (Nozipho McLean) à s’installer avant que, par un simple effet boule de neige, d’autres ne les rejoignent pour former une communauté baptisée La maison d’Ubuntu. Asili donne à ce départ de fiction le tour le plus pragmatique possible, dédaignant les ficelles de scénario pour privilégier la logique d’une reconstitution spéculative, inspirée d’une expérience de vie dans un collectif noir marxiste. Non sans autodérision, le reste du film est consacré à inventer des règles de vie commune, meubler et décorer la maison, faire de la musique et des smoothies, lire des textes révolutionnaires et de la poésie. À se lier surtout à d’autres histoires, d’autres luttes, d’autres temps, d’autres écritures, d’autres pratiques. Ainsi nos acteurs deviennent-ils l’audience d’intervenants qui, eux, ne jouent que leur propre rôle. Telles les poètes Sonia Sanchez et Ursula Rucker, ou encore ces survivants de l’organisation MOVE, une communauté noire fondée dans les années 1970 à Philadelphie et violemment persécutée par la police. La question de l’héritage, on le voit, c’est précisément celle qui cherche à remarier la théorie et la pratique, la fiction et le réel, le dedans et le dehors. Une fiction pour poser le cadre expérimental d’une exploration politique ; une maison pour catalyser les luttes du passé dans le présent.

Antoine Thirion

  • Ephraim Asili est un réalisateur, DJ et animateur de radio qui vit à New York. Il a étudié le cinéma et l’art vidéo, obtenant sa licence à Temple University et son master à Bard College, où il est désormais artiste en résidence à plein temps et maître de conférences en cinéma et en art numérique. Son œuvre de réalisateur inclut les courts-métrages Forged Way (2010), About Being Living (2010), Kinda/One Family (2016) et Fluid Frontiers (2017). The Inheritance (2020) est son premier long-métrage.

Production : Victoria Brooks, Ephraim Asili
Image : Ephraim Asili, Ryan Jenkin
Son : Stephen McLaughlin
Montage : Ephraim Asili
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Landscapes of Resistance

Marta Popivoda
2021France, Serbie, Allemagne95 min

Feast

Tim Leyendekker
2021Pays-Bas84 min

The Filmmaker’s House

Marc Isaacs
2020Royaume-Uni75 min