#01 International Selection

The Filmmaker’s House

Marc Isaacs

2020United Kingdom75 mn

When the Filmmaker is told his next film must be about crime, sex or celebrity to get funded, he takes matters into his own hands and begins shooting in his home with a cast of characters connected to his own life. Two English builders, employed to replace the garden fence, temporarily remove the barrier between the house and a Pakistani neighbour. A homeless Slovakian man charms the Filmmaker’s Colombian cleaner to let him in and tests everyone’s ideas of boundaries and hospitality.

____

A homeless Slovakian man, an Arsenal fan, a Colombian cleaner, a Pakistani woman mid-Ramadan. Mikel, Keith, Nery, Zara. The four characters, whose history, daily life and worldview have little in common, meet for one eventful day in the house of Marc, a filmmaker short of funding. The representative aspect of this sample of the United Kingdom’s population borders on comedy, but also tragedy, in a global context of closed borders. The house is a microcosm whose limits are called into question: Keith is replacing the fence that separates Marc from his neighbours, Nery invites Mikel to take a foam bath and Zara brings the group a festive meal – a pity that Keith is not fond of curry. In endless guises, the question returns: under what conditions are you willing to share the same space with others? Can the wish to be hospitable be imperilled by bad smells and opposite opinions? The clearer it becomes that the events we are witnessing are not spontaneous but directed by a written scenario and staging, the closer we feel to the protagonists. Acting does not oppose reality. On the contrary, each layer of artifice seems to strip away a little more of reality’s affectations. The film turns into a party: and in response to the obvious pleasure that Mikel, Keith, Nery and Zara take in playing out this comedy comes the pleasure we take in their unfortunately improbable interactions. 

Olivia Cooper-Hadjian

  • Marc Isaacs has made over twenty films for the BBC, Channel 4 and cinema. He has won BAFTA’s, Royal Television Society and Grierson awards and numerous festival prizes. Isaacs’ has had retrospectives in France, Israel and the UK. Isaacs has recently been appointed as an Associate Professor to run the Masters in Ethnographic and Documentary Film at University College London.

Screenplay : Adam Ganz and Marc Isaacs
Production : Marc Isaacs, Lush, MK Studios, Bungalow Town Productions Ltd
Editing : David Charap, Marc Isaacs
Original music : Mathew Shaw, Richard Norris and Islet
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Odoriko

Yoichiro Okutani
2020Japan, United States, France114 min

Tellurian Drama

Riar Rizaldi
2020Indonesia26 mn

FREIZEIT or: the opposite of doing nothing

Caroline Pitzen
2021Germany71 mn

#01 Sélection internationale

The Filmmaker’s House

Marc Isaacs

2020Royaume-Uni75 min

Lorsqu’on annonce au Réalisateur que son prochain film doit porter sur le crime, sur le sexe ou sur la célébrité pour recevoir des financements, il décide de prendre les choses en main personnellement et se met à tourner un film chez lui, avec des personnages liés à sa propre vie. Deux ouvriers anglais, embauchés pour remplacer la clôture du jardin, retirent pendant un temps ce qui séparait la maison de son voisinage pakistanais. Un SDF slovaque parvient à séduire la femme de ménage colombienne du Réalisateur afin qu’elle le laisser entrer, mettant ainsi à l’épreuve les conceptions de chacun en matière de frontières et d’hospitalité.

___

Un sans-abri slovaque, un supporter d’Arsenal, une employée de maison colombienne, une Pakistanaise en plein ramadan. Mikel, Keith, Nery, Zara. Ces quatre personnages éloignés par leur histoire, leur quotidien et leur vision du monde, se croisent le temps d’une journée mouvementée dans la maison de Marc, cinéaste en mal de financements. L’aspect représentatif de cet échantillon de population du Royaume-Uni frise le comique, mais aussi le tragique, dans un contexte global de fermeture des frontières. La maison est un microcosme dont les limites sont mises en question : Keith remplace la clôture qui sépare Marc de ses voisins, Nery invite Mikel à prendre un bain moussant et Zara fait don à l’assemblée d’un repas de fête – dommage, Keith n’aime pas le curry. Sous une infinité de formes, la question revient : sous quelles conditions accepte-t-on de partager un même espace avec autrui ? Les velléités d’hospitalité sont-elles tributaires des mauvaises odeurs et des opinions contraires ? Plus il devient évident que les événements auxquels on assiste ne surviennent pas spontanément, qu’un travail d’écriture et de mise en scène les régit, plus on a le sentiment de se rapprocher des protagonistes. Le jeu ne s’oppose pas au réel. Au contraire, chaque couche d’artifice semble le dépouiller un peu plus de ses apprêts. Le film devient une fête : au plaisir manifeste que prennent Mikel, Keith, Nery et Zara à jouer cette comédie répond celui que l’on trouve dans leurs interactions malheureusement improbables.

Olivia Cooper-Hadjian

____

Lire l’entretien avec le réalisateur sur le blog Mediapart de Cinéma du réel

  • Marc Isaacs a réalisé plus d’une vingtaine de films pour la BBC, pour Channel 4 et pour le cinéma. Ses films ont été primés aux BAFTA, à la Royal Television Society et aux Grierson Awards, et il a reçu de nombreux prix dans le cadre de festivals. Son œuvre a fait l’objet de rétrospectives en France, en Israël et au Royaume-Uni. Récemment, Isaacs a été nommé maître de conférences au master de cinéma ethnographique et documentaire de l’University College de Londres.

Scénario : Adam Ganz, Marc Isaacs
Production : Marc Isaacs, Lush, MK Studios, Bungalow Town Productions Ltd
Montage : David Charap, Marc Isaacs
Musique originale : Mathew Shaw, Richard Norris and Islet
Press Kit

Dans la même section

The Inheritance

Ephraim Asili
2020États-Unis100 min

Citadel

John Smith
2020Royaume-Uni16 min

A River Runs, Turns, Erases, Replaces

Shengze Zhu
2021États-Unis87 min