#01 International Selection

Tellurian Drama

Riar Rizaldi

2020Indonesia26 mn

May 5th, 1923. The Dutch East Indies government celebrated the opening of a new radio station in West Java. It was called Radio Malabar. In March 2020, the Indonesian local government plans to reactivate the station as a historical site and tourist attraction. Tellurian Drama imagines what would have happened in between: the vital role of the mountain in the country’s history; colonial ruins as an apparatus for geoengineering technology; and the invisible power of indigenous ancestral roots.

____

Through the shining leaves of an Indonesian jungle, we can make out old stones. The ruins are not those of some indigenous temple but of a colonial-era building: the Malabar Radio station, which formerly nestled against the mountainous relief with the mission of projecting into the skies air waves destined for the Netherlands. Depicted on drawings and photos of the time, the station comes across as the incarnation of a promise that swiftly became obsolete. On the images, the film compares the plans for the project with its present-day abandonment – as if the present was no more than a junction between its anticipation and disappearance. Through text and sound, Riar Rizaldi lays down other stones to erect a baroque edifice where different approaches to reality come to meet: the fanciful hypotheses of a 1986 academic paper meet the reality of development strategies in today’s Indonesia. Something of the paradoxical temporality of post-colonialism is being told here: projects arrive too soon or too late as they have no organic ties to the land on which they are being established – we learn that it is the construction of the station that imposed mechanical time divided into hours and minutes on those who lived here by the rhythm of the stars. As the words appear on the screen, unstable, undulating, the film gradually injects into the landscape the ideologies that have shaped it. The hybrid melody placed as a conclusion then resonates in a landscape less peaceful than it appears.

Olivia Cooper-Hadjian

  • Riar Rizaldi works as an artist and filmmaker. Born in Indonesia and currently based in Hong Kong. His main focus is on the relationship between capital and technology, extractivism, and theoretical fiction. His works have been shown internationally at Locarno Film Festival, BFI Southbank London, International Film Festival Rotterdam, Times Museum Guangzhou, Asian Film Archive Singapore, NTT InterCommunication Center Tokyo, and National Gallery of Indonesia amongst others.
    © Kay Beadman

Production : Riar Rizaldi
Cinematography : Natasha Tontey, Adythia Utama
Editing : Riar Rizaldi
Sound Design : Riar Rizaldi
Original music : Nursalim Yadi Anugerah
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Citadel

John Smith
2020United Kingdom16 mn

End of the Season

Jason Evans
2020United States13 mn

A River Runs, Turns, Erases, Replaces

Shengze Zhu
2021United States87 mn

#01 Sélection internationale

Tellurian Drama

Riar Rizaldi

2020Indonésie26 min

5 mai 1923. Le gouvernement des Indes orientales néerlandaises célèbre la création d’une nouvelle station de radio dans le Java occidental, appelée Radio Malabar. En mars 2020, une collectivité locale indonésienne projette de rouvrir la station en tant que site historique et attraction touristique. Le film imagine ce qui a pu se passer entretemps : le rôle crucial de la montagne dans l’histoire du pays, l’utilisation des ruines coloniales dans des techniques de géo-ingénierie, ainsi que la puissance invisible des racines indigènes.

___

On distingue de vieilles pierres à travers les feuilles luisantes d’une jungle d’Indonésie. Les ruines ne signalent pas l’existence de quelque temple indigène, mais d’un bâtiment de l’époque coloniale : la station de Radio de Malabar, qui s’adossa jadis au relief des montagnes environnantes pour jeter dans les airs des ondes à destination des Pays-Bas. Figurée par des schémas et photos d’époque, la station se présente comme l’incarnation d’une promesse vite devenue obsolète. À l’image, le film confronte les plans du projet et son actuelle désaffection – comme si le présent n’était qu’un point de jonction entre son anticipation et sa disparition. Par le texte et le son, Riar Rizaldi pose d’autres pierres qui construisent un édifice baroque, où se rencontrent différentes approches du réel : les thèses fantaisistes d’un article de 1986 croisent la réalité des stratégies de développement de l’Indonésie actuelle. Quelque chose de la temporalité paradoxale du post-colonialisme se raconte ici : les chantiers arrivent trop tôt ou trop tard, parce qu’ils ne sont pas organiquement liés à la terre sur laquelle ils s’échafaudent – il est dit ici que c’est la construction de la station qui imposa le temps mécanique, divisé en heures et en minutes, à ceux qui vivaient ici au rythme des astres. Au fil des mots qui apparaissent à l’image sous une forme instable, ondulatoire, le film charge progressivement le paysage des idéologies qui l’ont façonné. L’air de musique hybride placé en conclusion résonne alors dans un paysage moins paisible qu’il n’en a l’air.

Olivia Cooper-Hadjian

  • Riar Rizaldi est un artiste plasticien et cinéaste né en Indonésie et vivant actuellement à Hong Kong. Il s’intéresse principalement à la relation entre capital et technologie, à l’extractivisme et à la fiction théorique. Ses œuvres ont été projetées dans divers pays, notamment au Festival du Film de Locarno, au BFI Southbank de Londres, au Festival international du film de Rotterdam, au Times Museum de Canton, à l’Asian Film Archive de Singapour, au NTT InterCommunication Center de Tokyo et à la National Gallery d’Indonésie.
    © Kay Beadman

Production : Riar Rizaldi
Image : Natasha Tontey, Adythia Utama
Montage : Riar Rizaldi
Sound Design : Riar Rizaldi
Musique originale : Nursalim Yadi Anugerah
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Rock Bottom Riser

Fern Silva
2021États-Unis70 min

FREIZEIT or: the opposite of doing nothing

Caroline Pitzen
2021Allemagne71 min

Armour

Sandro Aguilar
2020Portugal, Canada30 min