#01 International Selection

Sol de Campinas

Jessica Sarah Rinland

2021Brazil26 mn

Archaeologists have been excavating a ring of mounds surrounding a central plaza within a territory currently known as the State of Acre, Brazil. They transition from field to laboratory, interpreting how the land was constructed, what patterns were employed in settlement land use, and the composition of the anthropogenic earth that remains.

_____

We remember Those That, at a Distance, Resemble Another (Cinéma du réel 2020), where Jessica Sarah Rinland unhesitatingly rolled up her sleeves to work hands-on and retrace the production of an elephant tusk, moving from different laboratories to the archives of a London museum. This time, filmed entirely in the field, Sol de Campinas follows the excavation of a site bearing the same name in Brazil’s Acre region, where deforestation has brought to light fifteen mounds of a millennium-old settlement. As for her method, we already know it. Apart from an opening where the faces of young archaeologists become visible in the glow of a television screen, Rinland films almost exclusively their hands, the tools and the earth they are scraping, sieving, soaking, sampling and measuring, or the meat that they share. A slight but constant desynchronisation exacerbates the tactile dimension of the image, absorbs our gaze and forces us to listen. Centripetal and centrifugal, the art of Jessica Rinland lies in the singular exchanges between her work on the celluloid film and the natural and technical processes of conserving the living. It is from this analogy, where formal experimentation is nurtured by the forms of science – from the gestures and techniques of archaeology to Bruno Latour’s theoretical texts, from the 3D reconstitutions to the traces of constellations – that filmmaking draws great descriptive amplitude. In return, it offers the world of work a little of its empathy and irreverence, taking advantage of a joke about an order from on high to break the studious flow of the film with a love song to a pack of dogs.

Antoine Thirion

  • Argentine-British artist filmmaker, Jessica Sarah Rinland’s work has been screened and exhibited internationally at Toronto Film Festival, New York Film Festival, BFI London Film Festival, Rotterdam, Oberhausen, Cinema du Réel, Somerset House (2016) and Bloomberg New Contemporaries (2011). She has won awards including Special Mention at Locarno Film Festival and Best Film at DocumentaMadrid for her first Feature Film (Those That, at a Distance, Resemble Another, 2019), Primer Premio at Bienale de Imagen en Movimiento (Black Pond, 2018).

Production, cinematography, editing : Jessica Sarah Rinland
Sound : Philippe Ciompi
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Rock Bottom Riser

Fern Silva
2021United States70 mn

Feast

Tim Leyendekker
2021Netherlands84 mn

Flowers Blooming in Our Throats

Eva Giolo
2020Italy9 mn

#01 Sélection internationale

Sol de Campinas

Jessica Sarah Rinland

2021Brésil26 min

Des archéologues effectuent des fouilles sur un site de tumulus entourant une place historique, désormais située dans un territoire qui s’appelle l’État de l’Acre, au Brésil. Ils passent du travail de terrain au laboratoire, essayant de comprendre comment le site fut construit, quels schémas furent adoptés lors de l’implantation d’habitations sur ces terres, ainsi que la composition de la terre anthropique restante.

____

On se souvient de Those That, at a Distance, Resemble Another (Cinéma du réel 2020), où Jessica Sarah Rinland, sans hésiter à mettre elle-même la main à la pâte, retraçait la fabrication d’une réplique de défense d’éléphant depuis divers laboratoires jusqu’aux archives d’un musée londonien. Cette fois entièrement sur le terrain, Sol de Campinas accompagne des fouilles menées sur le site du même nom dans la région d’Acre au Brésil, où la déforestation a mis au jour quinze monticules d’une colonie millénaire. La manière, elle, on la connaît. À l’exception d’une ouverture où les visages des jeunes archéologues se découvrent dans la faible lueur d’un écran de télévision, Rinland filme presque exclusivement leurs mains, les outils et la terre qu’ils grattent, tamisent, trempent, échantillonnent et mesurent, ou la viande qu’ils partagent. Une légère mais constante désynchronisation exacerbe la dimension tactile de l’image, absorbe le regard et force l’écoute. Centripète et centrifuge, l’art de Jessica Rinland repose sur de singuliers échanges entre le travail de la pellicule et les processus naturels et techniques de la conservation du vivant. De cette analogie où l’expérimentation formelle se nourrit des formes de la science – des gestes et techniques de l’archéologie aux textes théoriques de Bruno Latour, des reconstitutions 3D aux tracés des constellations – le cinéma tire une grande amplitude descriptive. En retour, il offre au monde du travail un peu de son empathie et de son irrévérence, profitant d’une blague sur un ordre d’en haut pour rompre le cours studieux du film par un chant d’amour à une meute de chiens.

Antoine Thirion

____

Lire l’entretien avec la réalisatrice sur le blog Mediapart de Cinéma du réel

  • Jessica Sarah Rinland est une cinéaste argentino-britannique dont le travail a été projeté et exposé dans le monde entier, notamment au Festival du film de Toronto, au Festival du film de New York, au Festival du film du BFI à Londres, à Rotterdam, à Oberhausen, au Cinéma du Réel, à la Somerset House (2016) et à l’exposition Bloomberg New Contemporaries (2011). Elle a remporté de nombreux prix, notamment la mention spéciale au Festival du film de Locarno et le prix du meilleur film à Documenta Madrid pour son premier long-métrage (Those That, at a Distance, Resemble Another, 2019), le Primer Premio à la Bienale de imagen en Movimiento (Black Pond, 2018).

Production, image, montage : Jessica Sarah Rinland
Son : Philippe Ciompi
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Armour

Sandro Aguilar
2020Portugal, Canada30 min

FREIZEIT or: the opposite of doing nothing

Caroline Pitzen
2021Allemagne71 min

Rock Bottom Riser

Fern Silva
2021États-Unis70 min