#02 French Selection

Silabario

Marine de Contes

2021France14 mn

An Island, a poem, a dream. Disappearance and reappearance of a whistled language, Silbo. History and transmission of this miraculous heritage from the island of La Gomera.

____

A man overlooks a kingdom. Opposite him reigns the immensity of rocks and forests. Torrents of mist roll over the mountain sides and dawn reveals a silent valley. Only the whistling of those who have learnt to live as birds escapes from this silence. In many regions and for countless years, men and women have sung the Silbo language, composed of whistled syllables that echo the inhabitants of the skies. The Canary Islands – though originally the islands of dogs (from the Canario people and based on the Latin canis) – did not give their name to birds for no reason: perched on their hills, men and children appear and disappear to create these ancestral vibrations capable of reaching other birds or bird-people nested far away on the other side of the valley. Their words pierce the mountains and create lines of air and new links. In this ethereal film, which unfolds so it seems in a world not yet condemned, the grandiose shots of the island landscapes merge air and land. Spaces are shared so as to sustain the entire heritage of this mythical language, which appears to be transmitted by the elders and perhaps, as the images invite us to dream, by the birds themselves. Common speech has fallen silent and the ecosystem revealed here seems to have changed the bodies and aptitudes of its inhabitants. The film of Marine de Contes is a daydream of the elements, without excitement, but delicately deafening – an invitation to listen as these secret languages recount the revealing poems of an unexpected world. 

Clémence Arrivé

  • Filmmaker and editor, Marine de Contes trained at ECAM (Madrid School of Cinema and Audiovisual) and now works in both documentary and fiction. Her films and video installations address ecological and social themes.
    Member of the French Academy of Fine Arts, she was selected for an artist’s residence at Casa de Velázquez in 2019–2020, where she made Silabario in the Spanish whistled language and developed her project for a feature film.
    Her previous film, Les Proies, was awarded the Louis Macorelles prize at the 2018 Cinéma du réel and received a special mention at the Linea d’Ombra festival in Salerne. The film has been shown in various cinemas, art centres and festivals (ICA, Lincoln Center, Viennale, Sheffield…)

Adapted from the poem by Miguel Ángel Feria, Anarcadia, Ed. Árdora (2018) :
Production : L'Atelier documentaire
Cinematography : Gabriel Roman
Editing : Marine de Contes
Music : Etienne Haan
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Baleh-baleh

Pascale Bodet
2021France51 mn

Garage, des moteurs et des hommes

Claire Simon
2021France71 mn

Un mal sous son bras

Marie Ward
2021France16 mn

#02 Sélection française

Silabario

Marine de Contes

2021France14 min

Une île, un poème, un rêve.
Disparition et réapparition d’une langue sifflée, le Silbo.
L’ histoire et la transmission de ce patrimoine miraculé de l’île de la Gomera.

___

Un homme surplombe un royaume. Face à lui règne l’immensité des roches et des forêts. Des torrents de brume roulent sur les flancs des montagnes et l’aube dévoile une vallée silencieuse. Seuls s’échappent de ce silence les sifflements de ceux qui ont appris à habiter en oiseau. Dans de nombreuses régions et depuis toujours, des hommes et des femmes ont chanté ce langage, le silbo, fait de syllabes sifflées, en écho avec les occupants des airs. Les îles Canaries, pourtant îles aux chiens (provenant du peuple canarii, du latin canis) n’ont pas donné leur nom à des oiseaux sans motif : perchés sur leurs collines, des hommes et des enfants apparaissent et disparaissent pour élever ces vibrations ancestrales capables d’atteindre d’autres oiseaux ou hommes-oiseaux nichés au loin, de l’autre côté de la vallée. Leurs paroles transpercent les montagnes et créent des lignes d’air et de nouvelles liaisons. Dans ce film aérien, qui semble se déployer dans un monde qui ne serait pas encore condamné, les plans grandioses des paysages des îles confondent les airs et la terre. Les espaces sont partagés pour porter tout l’héritage de ce langage mythique qui semble être transmis par les anciens et, comme les plans nous invitent à le rêver, peut-être par les oiseaux eux-mêmes. La parole commune est devenue muette et l’écosystème révélé ici paraît avoir changé les corps et les aptitudes de ses habitants. Le film de Marine de Contes est une rêverie élémentaire, sans agitation mais délicatement assourdissante, une invitation à écouter ces langages secrets nous raconter des poèmes révélateurs d’un monde inattendu.

Clémence Arrivé

____

Lire l’entretien avec la réalisatrice sur le blog Mediapart de Cinéma du réel

  • Réalisatrice et monteuse formée à l’ECAM (Ecole de Cinéma et d’Audiovisuel de Madrid), Marine de Contes travaille aussi bien en documentaire qu’en fiction et développe des projets de films et d’installations vidéo, abordant des thématiques écologiques et sociales.
    Membre de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de France, résidente à la Casa de Velázquez en 2019-2020, elle y réalise Silabario en langue sifflée espagnole et y développe son projet de long-métrage.
    Son film précédent, Les Proies, a été récompensé en 2018 du Prix Louis Marcorelles à Cinéma du réel Paris et d’une mention spéciale au festival Linea d’Ombra à Salerne. Il a également été diffusé dans de nombreuses salles de cinéma, centres d’arts ou festivals (Viennale, Sheffield, Lincoln Center…).

D'après un poème de Miguel Ángel Feria, Anarcadia, Ed. Árdora (2018) :
Production : L'Atelier documentaire
Image : Gabriel Roman
Montage : Marine de Contes
Musique : Etienne Haan
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Un monde flottant

Jean-Claude Rousseau
2021France56 min

Random Patrol

Yohan Guignard
2021France30 min

Incandescence des hyènes

Nicolas Matos Ichaso
2021France54 min