#11 European Classic Documentary Film Meetings 2021

Sambizanga

Sarah Maldoror

1972102 min

Angola 1961. Domingos Xavier is arrested by the colonial authorities, imprisoned and tortured. His wife, Maria, sets out to find him. The film denounces colonial repression and sparks the emergence of a voice of resistance. The origins of the MPLA (People’s Movement for the Liberation of Angola)

  • The filmmaker: Sarah Maldoror’s luminous cinematographic work, comprising over 40 films, is the reflection of a courageous fighter – generous, irreverent, concerned for others – who gloriously carried poetry beyond all borders. Sarah Maldoror used her sharp gaze to support the struggle against all types of intolerance and stigmatisation, and attached a fundamental importance to solidarity between the oppressed, political repression, and common Culture as the only means of uplifting a society. During her final public intervention at the Reina Sofia museum (Madrid, May 2019), which paid tribute to her, she reiterated how important it was for children to go to the cinema and read poetry from a very early age, in order to build a fairer world. An outspoken rebel and determined humanist, Sarah Maldoror celebrated the commitment of the artist and art as an act of liberation.  

  • Annouchka de Andrade :  Currently director of the Amiens International Film Festival, with over 30 years’ experience in international cultural cooperation, Annouchka de Andrade has worked with a specific focus on cinematographic creation, mainly in Andean countries. Over the past ten years, she has collaborated closely with Sarah Maldoror. Today, she and her sister, Henda, are co-developing projects to enhance, preserve and safeguard the oeuvre of Sarah Maldoror and Mario de Andrade, a couple whose artistic and political commitment has left its mark on the 20th century. After a ten-year negotiation with the rights-holder Editions René Chateau, the print of Sambizanga will be restored by the Cineteca di Bologna thanks to support from the Film Foundation. 

  • African Film Heritage Project: Since 2005/2006, the Cineteca di Bologna has played an active role in conceiving and creating the World Cinema Project, initiated within the framework of the Film Foundation, a non-profit founded by Martin Scorsese and other filmmakers to preserve the world’s film heritage. The project targets great masterpieces from countries whose structures for ensuring these films’ survival and exhibition are still relatively fragile. Over this period, the World Cinema Project  has helped to restore nearly 45 films from 23 countries, with special attention given to African heritage. The African Film Heritage Project, jointly created by the FEPACI (the Pan African Federation of Filmmakers), UNESCO and the Cineteca di Bologna, aims to restore works of significance for the African heritage. These are chosen by the filmmakers, critics, documentarists, etc. who are FEPACI members. Sambizanga is one of the first films to be selected when the African Film Heritage Project was first created.

Production : Isabelle Films
Restorer : Annouchka de Andrade, Cinémathèque de Bologne dans le cadre de l'African Film Heritage Project
Status and availability date : restoration will begin in February 2021

You might also be interested in

Marée noire et colère rouge

René Vautier
197865 min

De Cierta Manera

Sara Gomez
197374 min

La Suisse s’interroge

Henry Brandt
19645 x 4 min

#11 Rendez-vous européens du documentaire de patrimoine 2021

Sambizanga

Sarah Maldoror

1972102 min

Angola 1961. Domingos Xavier est emmené par les autorités coloniales, emprisonné et tortuté. Sa femme Maria se met à sa recherche.Ce film dénonce l’oppression coloniale et a permis l’émergence d’une parole résistante. Au origines du mouvement du MPLA (mouvement pour la Libération de l’Angola)

  • La réalisatrice : L’œuvre cinématographique lumineuse de Sarah Maldoror, avec plus de 40 films, est le reflet d’une vaillante combattante, curieuse de tout, généreuse, irrévérencieuse, soucieuse de l’autre qui porta glorieusement le poétique au-delà de toutes frontières. Sarah Maldoror a mis l’acuité de son regard au service de la lutte contre les intolérances et les stigmatisations de tous types, et accorda une importance fondamentale à la solidarité entre les opprimés, à la répression politique, et à la Culture comme unique moyen d’élévation d’une société. Lors de sa dernière intervention publique au Musée Reina Sofia (Madrid mai 2019) qui lui rendait hommage, elle répéta combien les enfants devaient aller au cinéma, lire de la poésie dès leur plus jeune âge, pour construire un monde plus juste. Révoltée au franc-parler, humaniste résolue, Sarah Maldoror célébra l’engagement de l’artiste et l’art comme acte de liberté.

  • Annouchka de Andrade : Actuellement directrice du festival international du Film d’Amiens, avec plus de 30 ans d’expérience dans la coopération culturelle internationale, Annouchkade Andrade a travaillé avec un fort focus pour la création cinématographique notamment dans les pays andins. Au cours de ces dix dernières années elle a collaboré étroitement avec Sarah Maldoror. A présent aux côtés de sa sœur Henda, elles développent des projets pour valoriser, préserver et sauvegarder l’œuvre de Sarah Maldoror et de Mario de Andrade, un couple dont l’engagement artistique et politique a marqué le XXème siècle.
    Après dix années de négociations avec le détenteur des droits Les éditions René Chateau, la copie de Sambizanga sera restaurée par la Cinemateca de Bologne grâce au soutien de la Film Foundation.

  • African Film Heritage Project : A partir de 2005/2006, la Cineteca di Bologna a joué un rôle actif dans l’idéation et la naissance du World Cinema Project, un projet né au sein de la Film Foundation, organisation à but non lucratif lancé par Martin Scorsese et des autres cinéastes pour la sauvegarde du patrimoine cinématographique mondiale. Le projet est destiné aux grands chefs-d’œuvre des pays qui ont des structures plus fragiles pour assurer leur survie et leur diffusion. Pendant ces années, le World Cinema Project  a contribué à la restauration de presque 45 films de 23 pays avec une attention particulière au patrimoine africain. Le African Film Heritage Project né en partenariat avec la FEPACI (Fédération Internationale des Cinéastes Panafricaine) UNESCO et la Cineteca di Bologna, vise à restaurer des oeuvres significatives du patrimoine africaine choisi par les cinéastes, les critiques, les documentaristes…. qui font partie de la FEPACI. Sambizanga fait partie des premiers titres sélectionnés dès le début du African Film Heritage Project.

Production : Isabelle Films
Restaurateurs : Annouchka de Andrade, Cinémathèque de Bologne dans le cadre de l'African Film Heritage Project
État d’avancement et date de disponibilité : la restauration commence en février 2021

Dans la même section

De Cierta Manera

Sara Gomez
197374 min

Irlande, terre promise

Hélène Châtelain
198245 min

La Suisse s’interroge

Henry Brandt
19645 x 4 min