#05 Filmmakers in their garden

Rolls : 1971

Robert Huot

1972United States97 mn

To create this Huot used twenty-two rolls of film shot during 1971, along with bits of other found footage and from materials photographed during the same period. Some of this material is similar to the very best minimal rolls from One Year (1970); other portions are more like the informal later rolls of the earlier film. In addition, he included a good deal of unusually personal imagery (some of it quite sexually explicit), mostly involving himself, Twyla Tharp (she and Huot were married at the time), and their son Jesse. These various kinds of imagery are integrated within a complex and highly suggestive editing strategy.

MacDonald: For Rolls (1971) you used a very unusual structure, a combination of two radically different ways of treating the same imagery. You jump back and forth between sections made up of 252 successive one-second images and roll-long, unedited, often single-shot material. What led you to choose that organization?

Huot: …Part of the reason for wanting to do that came from a feeling that all these experiences are in our minds simultaneously. You bring to any moment all these other experiences you’ve had. I wanted to show certain of the full rolls because I thought they were good or interesting as they were, and I wanted also to do this total juxtaposition. I wanted to use everything I shot, 100 percent, at least once. I wanted to show real time and also a state of mind. I thought that alternating between slow, very detailed presentations, where you would really look at all of the information, and rhythmic, one-second passages with the juxtapositions of everything would be real in a way only film could be.

Scott McDonald (roberthuot.com)

  • After being so involved in the art world both as a gallery artist and an activist, this something entirely new for me. After producing some of the most extreme, dematerialized, distilled and almost invisible art in the late Sixties, in January 1970 I began a film diary. […] Slowly the impact of my choices began to effect my art in a concrete way. The diary films became more and more a celebration of “nature.” As my awareness of my/our impact on the environment grew, I felt compelled to make my art and life reflect that awareness.
    Robert Huot

Production, cinematography, sound : Robert Huot
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Et maintenant ?

Joaquim Pinto
2013Portugal164 mn

L’Île déserte

Sophie Roger
2014France21 mn

#05 Cinéaste en son jardin

Rolls : 1971

Robert Huot

1972États-Unis97 min

Pour réaliser ce film, Huot a utilisé vingt-deux bobines de séquences datant de 1971, ainsi que d’autres matériaux issus de found footage et de photographies de la même période. Certaines parties du film ressemblent aux meilleures séquences minimalistes de One Year (1970) ; d’autres passages se rapprochent davantage des séquences plus libres de la fin du film précédent. En outre, Huot a inclus une bonne dose d’images inhabituellement intimes (à la dimension sexuelle parfois très explicite), impliquant principalement lui-même, Twyla Tharp (ils étaient mariés à l’époque), ainsi que leur fils Jesse. Ces différents types d’images sont intégrés dans une stratégie de montage complexe et hautement suggestive.
Scott McDonald (roberthuot.com)

 

Scott MacDonald : Pour Rolls (1971), vous avez utilisé une structure très inhabituelle, la combinaison de deux procédés radicalement différents pour traiter les mêmes images. Vous alternez entre d’une part des séquences constituées d’une suite de 252 images durant chacune une seconde, et d’autre part des séquences qui durent toute la durée de la bobine, sans montage, souvent en plan long. Qu’est-ce qui vous a poussé à choisir cette structure ?

Huot: […] Cela venait en partie de l’impression que toutes nos expériences sont présentes simultanément dans notre esprit. Dans n’importe quel moment, on apporte toutes les autres expériences que l’on a pu avoir. Je voulais montrer certaines bobines en entier parce que je pensais qu’elles étaient bonnes ou intéressantes en l’état, et je voulais également faire cette juxtaposition plus totalisante. Je voulais utiliser tout ce que j’avais filmé, à 100%, au moins une fois. Je voulais montrer le temps réel, mais je voulais aussi montrer un état d’esprit. Je me suis dit qu’en alternant entre des présentations lentes, très détaillées, où l’on regarderait vraiment l’ensemble des informations présentes à l’écran, et des passages rythmés d’une seconde où tout serait juxtaposé, cela permettrait de montrer la réalité comme seul le cinéma peut le faire.

(roberthuot.com)

  • Après avoir produit des œuvres d’art qui comptaient parmi les plus extrêmes de la fin des années 1960 – dématérialisées et essentialisées, parfois jusqu’aux limites de la visibilité – j’entamai en janvier 1970 un journal filmé. […] Peu à peu, mes choix de vie commencèrent à avoir un effet concret sur mon art. Les journaux filmés ressemblaient de plus en plus à une célébration de la « nature ». À mesure que mon/notre conscience de notre impact sur l’environnement grandissait, je me sentais dans l’obligation de produire un art et de mener une vie qui refléteraient cette prise de conscience. (Robert Huot)

Production, image, son : Robert Huot
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Et maintenant ?

Joaquim Pinto
2013Portugal164 min

Le Point Aveugle

Sophie Roger
2012France28 min

When the Persimmons Grew

Hilal Baydarov
2019Azerbaïdjan/Autriche118 min