#02 French Selection

Short Film Award 2021

Random Patrol

Yohan Guignard

2020France30 mn

Law and order are Matt’s duties. Every morning, this US police officer in the suburb of Oklahoma City takes his car to patrol in town. Every morning, he worries about the arrests of the day. Every morning, he wonders how much this job has changed him.

_____

Behind Matt, who is driving, the grey leafy suburb of Oklahoma City slides by, unchanging, through the car window. All the houses look alike, but this may be because we see them through the eyes of Matt, who is a police officer and who supposes that behind each door, on each street corner, his death surely awaits him. He is already thinking about it when we see him at dawn amid birdsong getting into his steamed-up SUV to begin his day of patrol. Seated in the passenger seat for half an hour, Random Patrol draws the portrait of an institution, a social class and a man. None of the three, so it seems, is in good shape. Matt is an ordinary police office, a law enforcement worker. Patrolling is his lot; he finds time to pick up his daughter from school, but can’t imagine missing a day’s work. That would imply he is failing in his mission, which clearly involves waiting for his death, as you can’t embody law and order without having a deep belief in evil, and even frankly pursuing it. Such is the portrait of the institution, and of an anonymous America. The portrait of the man shows the same thing: blockaded behind his police officer’s tinted glasses, behind his badge and revolver, which is buried with him in the melancholic vigil tracing the contours of his bleak life. Divorced, sad. Patrolling sometimes also means wading in at the deep end. In the film’s closing shots, the wheels of the SUV are half-drowned, as the Canadian River has burst its banks.

Jérôme Momcilovic

  • During his cinema school, Yohan Guignard makes movies about non professional and countryside rugby. In 2017, his short movie «Adieu la chair!», continues to explore male rituals in this sport. Selected in many festivals, it won the grand prize in the Parisian festival Le court en dit long and screen on french television (Arte, Ciné +, Rtbf). With «Random Patrol» (2020), Yohan Guignard continues to explore failings virility through the portrait of an american policeman during a non ending patrol in the suburbs of Oklahoma City. Driven by his desire to explore South of France territories through communities, he is now filming Cistercian Sisters in their Monastery and Young sheperds in a center of formation. In the same time he is developing a documentary with a syrian photographer who documented his life in besieged Eastern Ghouta.

Production : L’Endroit (Pascal Barneville, Maud Deschambres, Bastien Ehouzan)
Cinematography : Yohan Guignard
Sound : Matthieu Gasnier
Editing : Faustine Cros
Original music : Gaspar Claus
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Baleh-baleh

Pascale Bodet
2021France51 mn

Kindertotenlieder

Virgil Vernier
2021France27 mn

#02 Sélection française

Prix du court métrage 2021

Random Patrol

Yohan Guignard

2021France30 min

Faire régner l’ordre, c’est la mission de Matt, policier dans une banlieue d’Oklahoma City aux États-Unis. Tous les matins il prend sa voiture pour patrouiller dans la ville. Tous les matins, il appréhende les interpellations à venir et se questionne sur ce que ce métier a fait de lui.

____

Derrière Matt qui conduit, la banlieue grise et verte d’Oklahoma défile, égale, à travers la vitre. Toutes les maisons se ressemblent, ou bien c’est de les voir dans le regard de Matt, qui est policier et en déduit que derrière chaque porte, au coin de chaque rue, sa mort, sûrement, l’attend. Il y pense déjà quand le film le montre, à l’aube et dans les chants d’oiseaux, rejoindre le volant de son SUV recouvert de buée pour entamer sa journée de patrouille. En restant installé une demi-heure durant sur le siège passager, Random Patrol fait le portrait d’une institution, d’une classe, et d’un homme. Aucun des trois, semble-t-il, ne se porte très bien. Matt est un policier ordinaire, un manœuvre du law enforcement. La patrouille est son sort ; il y trouve le temps de ramener sa fille de l’école, mais ne s’imagine pas manquer une journée de travail. Ce serait faillir à sa mission, qui est donc d’attendre la mort, puisqu’on ne peut incarner l’ordre sans croire très fort au mal, et même y aspirer franchement. Voilà pour le portrait de l’institution, et de l’Amérique anonyme. Le portrait de l’homme montre la même chose : muré derrière les lunettes fumées de l’officier de police, derrière son badge et son revolver, enterré avec lui dans la vigie mélancolique qui trace les contours de sa vie morne. Divorcé, triste. Le mot « patrouille », nous apprend le dictionnaire, est cousin du mot « patauger ». Aux derniers plans du film, les roues du SUV sont à demi noyées, parce que la Canadian River a débordé de son lit.

Jérôme Momcilovic

____

Lire l’entretien avec le réalisateur sur le blog Mediapart de Cinéma du réel

  • Au cours de ses études de cinéma, Yohan Guignard réalise plusieurs documentaires dans le milieu du rugby rural et amateur. Il réalise en 2017 «Adieu la chair!», un court métrage de fiction qui clôture son exploration des rituels masculins au sein de ce sport. Sélectionné dans de nombreux festivals et diffusé sur Arte, Ciné + et la Rtbf, le film remporte le grand prix du festival Le court en dit long à Paris en 2018. Avec «Random patrol» (2020) Yohan Guignard continue de sonder les virilités défaillantes à travers le portrait en huis clos d’un policier américain au cours d’une patrouille sans fin dans une petite banlieue d’Oklahoma City. Porté par son désir de sonder des territoires à travers des communautés il filme actuellement des Sœurs cisterciennes dans leur monastère gersois ainsi que des jeunes bergers dans un centre de formation en Provence.Il développe en parallèle «Le film de Rafat», un documentaire qu’il coréalise avec un photographe Syrien ayant mis en scène son quotidien lors du siège de la Ghouta Orientale dans la banlieue de Damas.

Production : L’Endroit (Pascal Barneville, Maud Deschambres, Bastien Ehouzan)
Image : Yohan Guignard
Son : Matthieu Gasnier
Montage : Faustine Cros
Musique originale : Gaspar Claus
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Avant que le ciel n’apparaisse

Denis Gheerbrant
2021France85 min

Foedora

Judith Abensour
2021France80 mn

Baleh-baleh

Pascale Bodet
2021France51 mn