#01 International Selection

La Scam International Award 2021
Cultural Intangible Heritage Award 2021

Odoriko

Yoichiro Okutani

2020Japan, United States, France114 min

Odoriko are dancers of the dying art of Japanese strip theater. Once a popular form of entertainment alongside standup comedy, today all but 20 strip clubs have closed nationwide. Still, the women travel solo with their costume cases from one dressing room to another.

_____

We hear the speaker’s distant crackling voice announcing the next act with no great conviction: “The stage is this place, he says, where the snow falls in summer and the sun shines in winter.” But over here, in the changing rooms where the dancers are getting ready, the world turns the right way round, that is to say, around practical questions: shimmering costumes to be mended and slipped on in a rustle of sequins, skilful makeup in front of cluttered mirrors, news by phone from a far-off family, stretching, broken-down air-conditioning. Fiction has often touched on (in the films of Renoir, Cassavetes or Ferrara) this back-stage feminine sociability encircled by men’s gaze. The strippers here bear the age-old name odoriko, and command all the attention of Yoichiro Okutani’s discreet camera. Men exist only on the fringes, as an off-screen presence in the run-down theatres, where, in any case, their number is dwindling. For, in Japan, some twenty of these old-fashioned clubs are all that remain, welcoming under their tired neon lights the itinerant dancers who may well be the last representatives of their art. Here, from one changing room to another, their enduring professionalism is the real show, retrieved from the depths of mirrors destined to drink in their deepest secrets. 

Jérôme Momcilovic

  • Born in 1978 in Japan, Yoichiro studied on the graduate documentary course at the Film School of Tokyo under filmmakers Sato Makoto and Tsutsui Takefumi. Nippon no Misemonoyasan (The Last Sideshow Troupe in Japan) (2012), a feature-length documentary about a freak show troupe and its family, captured a cult following in the cinemas. Children of Soleil (2013) was invited to Yamagata IDFF 2011 (New Asian Currents) and Cinéma du Réel 2012 (First Films Competition). Both films have been theatrically released in Japan.

Production : Asako Fujioka (Documentary Dream Center), Eric Nyari (Cineric Creative), Yoichiro Okutani
Cinematography : Yoichiro Okutani
Sound : Young-chang Hwang
Editing : Keiko Okawa, Yoichiro Okutani
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

The I and S of Lives

Kevin Jerome Everson
2021United States7 mn

Figure Minus Fact

Mary Helena Clark
2020United States13 min

The Filmmaker’s House

Marc Isaacs
2020United Kingdom75 mn

#01 Sélection internationale

Prix international de la Scam 2021
Prix du patrimoine culturel immatériel 2021

Odoriko

Yoichiro Okutani

2020Japon, États-Unis, France114 min

« Odoriko » désigne les danseuses d’un art bientôt disparu, celui du théâtre de strip-tease japonais. Alors qu’il a pu constituer un divertissement populaire au même titre que les spectacles comiques, seuls une vingtaine de ces clubs de strip-tease sont encore en activité dans le pays. Les femmes continuent à voyager seules avec leurs costumes dans leurs bagages, d’une loge à une autre.

____

On entend au loin la voix grésillante du speaker, qui annonce avec une conviction relative le prochain numéro : « La scène est cet endroit, dit-il, où la neige tombe en été et le soleil brille en hiver. » Mais de ce côté-ci, dans les loges où se préparent les danseuses, le monde tourne à l’endroit, c’est-à-dire autour de questions pratiques : costumes miroitants à repriser puis enfiler dans un bruissement de sequins, maquillage savant devant des miroirs encombrés, nouvelles prises par téléphone de la famille lointaine, étirements, climatiseur en panne. La fiction a effleuré souvent (chez Renoir, Cassavetes ou Ferrara) cette sociabilité féminine des coulisses, cernée par le regard des hommes. Les strip-teaseuses répondant, ici, au nom ancien d’odoriko ont l’entière attention de la caméra discrète de Yoichiro Okutani. Les hommes n’y subsistent qu’à la marge, devinés dans le hors champ des théâtres vétustes où, de toute façon, ils sont de moins en moins nombreux. Car il ne reste au Japon qu’une vingtaine de ces clubs désuets, accueillant sous leurs néons fatigués les danseuses itinérantes qui seront, peut-être, les dernières représentantes de leur art. Leur professionnalisme endurant est ici, d’une loge à l’autre, le véritable spectacle, ramené du fond des miroirs qui sont voués à boire leurs ultimes secrets.

Jérôme Momcilovic

____

Lire l’entretien avec le réalisateur sur le blog Mediapart  de Cinéma du réel 

  • Né en 1978 au Japon, Yoichiro a suivi un cursus universitaire de cinéma documentaire à la Film School of Tokyo sous la direction des cinéastes Makoto Sato et Takefumi Tsutsui. Nippon no Misemonoyasan (« la dernière troupe de spectacle du Japon »), est un long-métrage documentaire sorti en 2012 au sujet d’une troupe de phénomènes de foire et de leurs familles. Le film est devenu culte au cinéma. Enfants du soleil (2013) a fait l’objet d’une invitation au Yamagata IDFF 2011 (New Asian Currents) et au Cinéma du Réel 2012 (compétition premiers films). Les deux films ont bénéficié d’une sortie en salle au Japon.

Production : Asako Fujioka (Documentary Dream Center), Eric Nyari (Cineric Creative), Yoichiro Okutani
Image : Yoichiro Okutani
Son : Young-chang Hwang
Montage : Keiko Okawa, Yoichiro Okutani
Press Kit

Dans la même section

earthearthearth

Daïchi Saïto
2021Canada30 min

Armour

Sandro Aguilar
2020Portugal, Canada30 min

Faraway My Shadow Wandered

Liao Jiekai
Sudhee Liao
2020Singapour, Taiwan, Japon70 min