#05 Filmmakers in their garden

Margaret Tait

1981United Kingdom32 mn

A Portrait of Ga (1952, United Kingdom, 4 mn)

The ‘Ga’ of the title refers to the film maker’s mother. The film gathers together this elderly lady’s everyday actions to offer an abstract insight into her life.

‘My mother seemed a good subject for a portrait, (she was there), and I thought it offered a chance to do a sort of ‘abstract film’, in the sense that it didn’t have what you might call ‘the grammar of film’. It’s mostly discontinuous shots linked just by subject, in one case by colour, only rarely by movement’. (Margaret Tait)

follow this link to watch the movie

Aerial (1974, United Kingdom, 4 mn)

‘Touches on elemental images ; air, water, (and snow), earth and fire (and smoke) all come in to it. The track consists of a drawn-out musical sound, single piano notes and some natural sounds’.

‘Yes, really a very simple film, if you allow yourself to respond to it instead of trying to follow it intellectually. There is no narrative and no argument, it seems more like a musical theme conjured out of the whole rather than presented as point to be taken. There’s a general theme of the four elements, earth, air, fire and water – in a different order – air, water, earth, fire and then air again, with all the elements intermingled. But just as a sort of song or even a kind of nursery rhyme. Although I don’t understand musical structure – I can’t really follow the structure of piece of music when I’m listening to it – but I think that film- structure is more like musical structure than anything else.’ (Margaret Tait)

follow this link to watch the movie

Tailpiece (1976, United Kingdom, 9 mn)

Lingering shots of house and garden accompanied by music, song and poetry provide an appropriate goodbye to Margaret Tait’s empty house and studio in Buttquoy, Orkney.

follow this link to watch the movie

Garden Pieces (1998, United Kingdom, 11 mn)

A set of three ‘film poems’ composed around the theme of the garden – the central one featuring hand scratched animated drawings. 

‘Round the Garden’ – right round and round again, ‘Garden Fliers’ – flighty cartoon and a stunner of a piano piece and ‘Grove’ – grave and sonorous. (Margaret Tait)

follow this link to watch the movie

Land Makar (1981, Royaume-Uni, 31 mn)

‘A landscape study of an Orkney croft, with the figure of the crofter, Mary Graham Sinclair, very much in the picture, and enriched throughout by her vivid comments. Filmed over several seasons between 1977 and 1980, it takes in many of the human activities which alter the look of the land. The croft is on the edge of a small loch where swans and other birds nest in the grass. It is worked in the old style and, although a mechanised aids are brought into use when appropriate, much is done by one woman’s labour. The crops are hay, turnips, potatoes, kale and oats; the croft also fattens a few cattle and feeds a little flock of hens and a few ducks …. ‘Makar’ is a Scots word, meaning ‘poet’. The film is worked out so that the sequences are like a number of canvases.’ (Margaret Tait)

follow this link to watch the movie

  • In intimate films attuned to the secret life of things, people, and landscapes, Margaret Tait sought to reveal the other side of existence – the side we only notice when our own presence in the world comes to the foreground. An independent mind and eye, she focused on what she saw before her, be it the streets of Edinburgh, the crashing sea on Orkney or a pair of old boots in a barn, shedding an singular light on the manifold dimensions of things.
    (Wien FilmMuseum)

You might also be interested in

Les Jardiniers du Petit Paris

Sophie Roger
2009France34 mn

Le Point Aveugle

Sophie Roger
2012France28 mn

#05 Cinéaste en son jardin

Margaret Tait

1981Royaume-Uni32 min

A Portrait of Ga (1952, Royaume-Uni, 4 min)

« Ga » désigne ici la mère de la réalisatrice. Le film nous donne un aperçu abstrait de la vie de cette vieille femme en assemblant des images de son quotidien.

« J’ai pensé que ma mère ferait un bon sujet de portrait – elle était là, déjà – et je me suis dit que cela me permettrait de faire une sorte de “film abstrait”, dans le sens où il serait dépourvu de ce qu’on peut appeler une “grammaire cinématographique”. Il est essentiellement constitué de plans qui ne suivent pas, connectés seulement par leur sujet, une seule fois par la couleur, et très rarement par le mouvement. » (Margaret Tait)

suivre ce lien pour voir le film

Aerial (1974, Royaume-Uni, 4 min)

« L’imagerie du film est liée aux quatre éléments : l’air, l’eau (et la neige), la terre, le feu (et la fumée) sont tous présents. La bande-son est composée de sons distendus, de quelques notes de piano et de musique naturelle. »

« Oui, c’est un film très simple si on cherche à y être réceptif sans essayer d’appliquer une logique rationnelle. Il n’y a pas de récit, ni de raisonnement ; c’est davantage un thème musical qui naît de l’association de ces éléments, et pas vraiment une idée que j’aurais cherché à faire passer. La thématique générale est celle des quatre éléments : la terre, l’air, le feu et l’eau – dans un ordre différent l’air, l’eau, la terre, le feu, puis l’air à nouveau, et tous ces éléments s’entremêlent… Mais de façon très simple, comme une chanson, comme une sorte de comptine. Même si je ne comprends rien aux structures musicales – j’aurais beaucoup de mal à saisir la structure d’une composition à l’oreille –, je crois que la structure d’un film est beaucoup plus semblable à la structure musicale qu’à toute autre chose. » (Margaret Tait)

suivre ce lien pour voir le film

Tailpiece (1976, Royaume-Uni, 9 min)

De longs plans d’une maison et d’un jardin, accompagnés par de la musique, de la chanson et de la poésie : Margaret Tait compose ici un parfait adieu à sa maison et à son studio inoccupés à Buttquoy, dans les Orcades.

suivre ce lien pour voir le film

Garden Pieces (1998, Royaume-Uni, 11 min)

Un ensemble de trois « poèmes cinématographiques » inspirés par la thématique du jardin ; le film central est une animation composée de dessins réalisés à la main.

« “Round the Garden” : le titre ne ment pas, la caméra tourne dans le jardin. “Garden Fliers” : un dessin animé fantasque, ainsi qu’un formidable morceau de piano. “Grove” : grave et sonore. » (Margaret Tait)

suivre ce lien pour voir le film

Land Makar (1981, Royaume-Uni, 31 min)

« Une étude d’un paysage, celui d’une petite ferme dans les Orcades. La figure de la paysanne est très présente dans le film grâce aux interventions de Mary Graham Sinclair, qui apporte un supplément d’authenticité. Les séquences ont été filmées à différentes périodes de l’année, entre 1977 et 1980, et s’intéressent aux nombreuses activités humaines qui viennent modifier l’aspect d’un paysage. La fermette se situe au bord d’un petit loch où des cygnes et d’autres oiseaux font leur nid, dans l’herbe. Elle fonctionne à l’ancienne, et bien que des instruments mécanisés soient utilisés lorsque cela s’impose, l’essentiel du travail est réalisé par une seule femme. On y cultive du foin, des navets, des pommes de terre, du chou kale et de l’avoine ; la fermette sert aussi à engraisser du bétail et à nourrir quelques poules et quelques canards. […] “Makar” est un mot écossais qui signifie “poète”. Le film est structuré comme si les séquences formaient une suite de tableaux. » (Margaret Tait)

suivre ce lien pour voir le film

  • Dans des films intimistes à l’écoute de la vie secrète des objets, des personnes et des paysages, Margaret Tait s’est appliquée à révéler l’autre face de l’existence, celle que nous remarquons uniquement lorsque notre propre présence au monde passe au premier plan. Avec son regard et son esprit indépendants, elle s’est intéressée à ce qu’elle voyait autour d’elle, qu’il s’agisse des ruelles d’Édimbourg, du fracas des vagues sur l’archipel des Orcades ou encore d’une vieille paire de bottes dans une grange, mettant ainsi en lumière les multiples dimensions de la réalité.
    (Wien FilmMuseum)

Dans la même section

Rose Lowder

201256 min

Et maintenant ?

Joaquim Pinto
2013Portugal164 min