#05 Filmmakers in their garden

Le Point Aveugle

Sophie Roger

2012France28 mn

In the enclosed space of a Normandy garden, a close-up view of the plant and animal world. The gestures of the gardener-filmmaker are precise: she plants, moves plants, deseeds and protects. She also regularly treats her sore eye. This everyday space becomes a garden persistently haunted by a distant land (Chile) and a past (the dictatorship), an atmosphere of a lurking disaster insinuating its malaise into what seems to be a highly protected intimacy. Gestures of caring, for the plants and oneself, to tend wounds that remain mysterious but are seemingly shared with the other, the friend who flits by like a ghost, time enough for a double portrait. We discover nothing about the source of the desire but it will be present in the squash, gunnera, rose and artichoke flowers.

Le Point Aveugle returns to the questioning of Les Jardiniers du Petit Paris. But the point of view has been narrowed down: it is her own garden, her plants and her house, filmed as a personal space that offers an opportunity to reflect on the world.
Through simple but extremely precise filming choices, she pushes DV to its limits, up close to the matter of plants, to textures filmed with a rare sensuality, a rare quality of presence, of proximity. This everyday space becomes a garden persistently haunted by a distant land (Chile) and a past (the dictatorship), an atmosphere of a lurking disaster insinuating its malaise into what seems to be a highly protected intimacy. Gestures of caring, for the plants and oneself, to tend wounds that remain mysterious but seemingly shared with the other, the friend who flits by like a ghost, time enough for a double portrait. Being alone, being a twosome. An inhabited solitude, a companionship strung out between here and elsewhere. A solitary meditation searching for the blind spot of a life, in an attempt to approach this invisible dimension. This free filmmaking, which invents its own language to whisper both the intimate and the world, seems infinitely precious and infinitely innovative.

Cyril Neyrat

  • For many years, Sophie Roger has been creating a free and distinctive body of work, far from the Parisian limelight and commerce. Be it drawings or films, her work is rooted in the territory most familiar to her, a corner of the Pays-de-Caux just north of her birthplace. She lives and works here in the countryside, not far from the cliff. From this personal territory, her work constantly questions the elsewhere, the relationship with the other, whoever they may be: friends, neighbours, distant peoples, inhabitants of the past, the sick of today. (Cyril Neyrat)

Production : Independencia Production
Cinematography, sound, editing : Sophie Roger
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Margaret Tait

1981United Kingdom32 mn

Rose Lowder

201256 mn

#05 Cinéaste en son jardin

Le Point Aveugle

Sophie Roger

2012France28 min

Dans l’espace clos d’un jardin normand, on observe de très près un monde végétal et animal. Les gestes de la cinéaste-jardinière sont précis: elle plante et déplace les végétaux, égraine, protège. Elle soigne aussi régulièrement son œil malade. Le territoire quotidien devient un jardin hanté : par un ailleurs (Le Chili) et un passé (la dictature) qui insistent, une atmosphère de catastrophe rodant autour, insinuant son inquiétude dans l’intime le plus apparemment protégé. Gestes de soin, aux plantes et à soi, pour panser des plaies qui restent mystérieuses, que l’on devine partagée avec l’autre, l’amie qui passe comme un fantôme, le temps d’un double portrait. On ne saura rien de l’origine du désir mais il sera présent dans les fleurs de courge et de gunnera, de rose et d’artichaut.

Le Point Aveugle renoue avec les questionnements des Jardiniers du Petit Paris. En resserrant le point de vue : il s’agit de son jardin, de ses plantes et de sa maison, filmés comme le lieu intime d’où une pensée du monde est possible. Par des choix de filmage simples mais très précis, elle pousse la DV dans ses retranchements, au plus près de la matière des plantes, des textures filmées avec une rare sensualité, une rare qualité de présence, de proximité. Le jardin quotidien devient un jardin hanté : par un ailleurs (Le Chili) et un passé (la dictature) qui insistent, une atmosphère de catastrophe rodant autour, insinuant son inquiétude dans l’intime le plus apparemment protégé. Gestes de soin, aux plantes et à soi, pour panser des plaies qui restent mystérieuses, que l’on devine partagée avec l’autre, l’amie qui passe comme un fantôme, le temps d’un double portrait. Être seul, être deux. Solitude habitée, compagnonnage tendu entre ici et ailleurs. Méditation solitaire à la recherche du point aveugle d’une vie, pour tenter d’approcher cet invisible. Ce cinéma libre, qui se donne son propre langage, pour murmurer ensemble l’intime et le monde, nous semble des plus précieux, des plus novateurs.
Cyril Neyrat

  • L’œuvre de Sophie Roger s’ancre dans son territoire le plus familier au nord de son Havre natal où elle vit et travaille à la campagne, à Bénouville. Depuis ce territoire intime, ses films ne cessent d’interroger l’ailleurs et sa relation à l’autre, amis, voisins ou peuples lointains.

Production : Independencia Production
Image, son, montage : Sophie Roger
Press Kit

Dans la même section

L’Île déserte

Sophie Roger
2014France21 min

Notes 1984, Part.3

Robert Huot
1984États-Unis31 min

Rolls : 1971

Robert Huot
1972États-Unis97 min