#04 Pierre Creton

Le Bel Été

Pierre Creton

2019France80 mn

Robert, Simon and Sophie live on the Channel coast with their daily routines. Nessim enters their life, followed by the teenagers Ahmed and Mohammed, who are threatened by the political situation in Africa. All of them crossed the Mediterranean to seek refuge in France. They all live together in Normandy for one summer.

Audiences familiar with Creton’s films will recognise the garden and filmmaker’s home which, for one summer, becomes the stage and set where life is again transfigured into comedy. With Flora, youth bursts into the house, breathing its tremendous energy into the film with a pop music bloom echoed by tracks from Les Limiñanas. And the youth of Ahmed and Mohammed, two young migrants who have ended up in Normandy and with whom Simon and Robert share their roof and life. The radiant, sensual insouciance of the “children” and the music provide a counterpoint to the slower, more serious and questioning approach of the adults. Sophie keeps loneliness at bay by observing Simon and Robert as they expose their relationship to the risk of Nessim, the African lover who has survived Calais and the demolition of “The Jungle”. Since La Vie après la mort (FID 2004), Creton has turned his home into an echo chamber of the world, a refuge for an experimental utopian counter-society of caring, humility and gentleness. By taking care of children, the adults learn to live with their wounds and their desires. By watching how adults live, the children learn how to weave together life and death. This fabric has never vibrated with so many nuances and contrasts as in this Bel Été. Of Pavese’s eponymous novel, the film has kept only its rawness and a lucidity devoid of naïve optimism. Whatever cynics may think, everything here is true, everything has been experienced and tested before being reinvented for cinema. Without discourse or slogans,  Le Bel été applies the most concrete of policies: through the example of a lifestyle and existences risked in common, in an openness to encounters and adventures.

Cyril Neyrat (FIDMarseille, 2019)

 

Production : Andolfi, Arnaud Dommerc
Screenplay : Pierre Creton, avec l’aide de Vincent Barré & Mathilde Girard
Cinematography : Pierre Creton, avec l’aide de Léo Gil Ména
Sound : Michel Bertrou
Editing : Pierre Creton
Original music : The Limiñanas
With : Gaston Ouedraogo, Sophie Lebel, Yves Edouard Sébastien Frère, Marie Imbert, Mohamed Samoura, Amed Khroma, Wally toure, Pauline Haudepin, et la participation de : Mathieu Amalric, Ariane Doublet Valery Gaillard, Nicolas Klotz, Ghislaine Paul-Cavallier
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Aline Cézanne

Pierre Creton
Vincent Barré
2010France20 mn

Le Grand Cortège

Pierre Creton
2011France30 mn

#04 L'intégrale Pierre Creton

Le Bel Été

Pierre Creton

2019France80 min

Robert, Simon et Sophie vivent au bord de la Manche dans un quotidien d’habitudes. Nessim va entrer dans leur vie, suivi des jeunes Ahmed et Mohammed, que la situation politique de l’Afrique menace. Tous ont traversé la Méditerranée pour se réfugier en France. Ils vont vivre tous ensemble en Normandie le temps d’un été.

Le spectateur familier du cinéma de Creton reconnaît le jardin et la maison du cinéaste, devenus scène et décor, pour un été, d’une nouvelle transfiguration de la vie en comédie. Avec Flora, c’est la jeunesse qui jaillit dans la maison, et insuffle au film sa formidable énergie, fraîcheur pop relayée par la musique des Liminanas. Jeunesse d’Ahmed et Mohammed, deux jeunes migrants échoués en Normandie, à qui Simon et Robert offrent leur toit et le partage de leur existence. En contrepoint à l’insouciance solaire et sensuelle des « enfants », la musique du récit oppose la ligne plus lente, grave et questionnante des adultes. Sophie trompe sa solitude en observant Simon et Robert exposer leur couple au risque de Nessim, l’amant africain rescapé de Calais et de la jungle détruite. Depuis La Vie après la mort (FID 2004), Creton fait de sa maison une chambre d’échos du monde, un refuge où s’expérimente une contre-société utopique du soin, de l’humilité et de la douceur. C’est en prenant soin des enfants que les adultes apprennent à vivre avec leurs blessures et leurs désirs. C’est en regardant vivre les adultes que les enfants apprennent à tisser la vie avec la mort. Jamais ce tissu n’a vibré d’autant de nuances et de contrastes que dans ce Bel Été qui, du récit éponyme de Pavese, n’a gardé que la crudité et une lucidité sans angélisme. N’en déplaise aux cyniques, tout y est vrai, tout a été vécu, éprouvé par l’expérience avant d’être réinventé pour le cinéma. Sans discours ni slogan, Le Bel été pratique la plus concrète des politiques : par l’exemple d’une forme de vie, d’existences risquées en commun, dans l’ouvert des rencontres et des aventures.

Cyril Neyrat (FIDMarseille, 2019)

 

  • Pierre Creton est cinéaste et ouvrier agricole. Né en 1966, il vit et travaille à Vattetot-sur-mer (Seine Maritime). Il a fait ses études à la Villa Arson (Nice) et à l’École des beaux-arts du Havre. Il est le réalisateur notamment du Bel Été (2019), de Va, Toto! (2017). L’ensemble de son œuvre est façonné par et autour des gestes quotidiens et la terre comme lieu et temps de son occupation tout à la fois de cinéaste et de paysan.

Production : Andolfi, Arnaud Dommerc
Scénario : Pierre Creton, avec l’aide de Vincent Barré & Mathilde Girard
Image : Pierre Creton, avec l’aide de Léo Gil Ména
Son : Michel Bertrou
Montage : Pierre Creton
Musique originale : The Limiñanas
Avec par ordre d’apparition : Gaston Ouedraogo, Sophie Lebel, Yves Edouard Sébastien Frère, Marie Imbert, Mohamed Samoura, Amed Khroma, Wally toure, Pauline Haudepin, et la participation de : Mathieu Amalric, Ariane Doublet Valery Gaillard, Nicolas Klotz, Ghislaine Paul-Cavallier
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Mercier et Camier

Pierre Creton
Sophie Roger
1998France15 min

Papa, maman, Perret et moi. Un appartement pour témoin

Pierre Creton
Vincent Barré
2010France30 min

Le Vicinal

Pierre Creton
1994France12 min