#01 International Selection

Library Award 2021

Landscapes of Resistance

Paysages résistants

Marta Popivoda

2021France, Serbia, Germany95 mn

Landscapes of Resistance traces a journey through the memories of antifascist fighter Sonja (97), one of the first female partisans in Yugoslavia, who was also one of the leaders of the Resistance movement at Auschwitz. We make her story travel through time towards the bodies of the new generation of antifascists, bespeaking that it is always possible to think and practice resistance.

____

While Landscapes of Resistance has us discover and appreciate Sonja, formerly a member of the Serbian Partisans movement, and reveals her extraordinary journey, her death is announced in the film undramatically. This choice reveals the approach adopted by Marta Popivoda: she tells a twentieth-century story but keeps her eyes open to the present. She portrays a human being in all her singularity to have it resonate more powerfully within us. We draw inspiration, in the strongest sense of the word, from the way in which Sonia began to read “progressive” books early in her life, before joining the struggle against the Nazis, without ever losing courage, even in Auschwitz. The filmmaker crafts a fine cinematic setting for the old lady’s precious testimony. The rhythm of the editing aligns with the soft, slow flow of her voice: the images melt into each other in magnificent dissolves. These shots from the present interweave a domestic world, places of memory and the peaceful world of nature that echoes the resistance fighter’s extraordinary instinct for survival. Excerpts of a correspondence appear superimposed on the image and gradually clarify the relationship between the filmmaker and the protagonist. Letters written by the woman who has brought together Sonya and the filmmaker – she is granddaughter to the first and partner to the second. The parallel journey of these three characters over several years, and beyond death, leads to a conclusion that stands to reason: we don’t have to be heroes to be Partisans; but we must be Partisans.

Olivia Cooper-Hadjian

  • Marta Popivoda (1982, Serbia) is a Berlin-based filmmaker, video-artist and researcher. Her work explores tensions between memory and history, collective and individual bodies, as well as ideology and everyday life, with a focus on antifascist and feminist potentialities of the Yugoslav socialist project. She cherishes collective practice in art-making and research, and for several years has been part of the TkH (Walking Theory) collective. Popivoda’s first feature documentary, Yugoslavia, How Ideology Moved Our Collective Body, premiered at the 63rd Berlinale and was later screened at many international film festivals.

Production : Jasmina Sijercic, Dragana Jovović, Marta Popivoda
Cinematography : Ivan Marković
Sound : Jakov Munižaba, Simon Apostolou
Editing : Jelena Maksimovic
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

The Filmmaker’s House

Marc Isaacs
2020United Kingdom75 mn

Tellurian Drama

Riar Rizaldi
2020Indonesia26 mn

Les Prières de Delphine

Rosine Mbakam
2021Belgium, Cameroon90 mn

#01 Sélection internationale

Prix des bibliothèques 2021

Landscapes of Resistance

Paysages résistants

Marta Popivoda

2021France, Serbie, Allemagne95 min

Paysages résistants plonge dans les souvenirs d’une combattante antifasciste, Sonja (97 ans), une des premières femmes Partisane de Yougoslavie, qui fut également une des chefs de file du mouvement de Résistance au camp d’Auschwitz-Birkenau. Son histoire voyage à travers le temps et s’incarne dans une nouvelle génération antifasciste, entretenant l’idée qu’il est toujours possible de penser et de pratiquer la résistance.

___

Si Landscapes of Resistance nous fait rencontrer et aimer Sonja, qui fit partie du mouvement des Partisans de Serbie et témoigne ici de son parcours extraordinaire, sa mort est annoncée dans le film sans dramatisme aucun. Ce parti pris est révélateur de la démarche de Marta Popivoda : raconter une histoire du vingtième siècle, mais en gardant les yeux ouverts sur le présent. Dépeindre un être dans toute sa singularité, pour mieux le faire résonner en nous. Il s’agit de tirer une inspiration, au sens le plus fort du terme, de la façon dont Sonja a, très tôt, commencé à lire des ouvrages « progressifs », avant de s’engager contre les Nazis sans jamais perdre courage, même à Auschwitz. La réalisatrice construit un écrin pour le récit précieux de la vieille dame. Le rythme de son montage s’aligne sur le débit doux et lent de sa voix : les images se fondent les unes dans les autres au gré de magnifiques fondus enchaînés. Ces plans au présent font s’entrecroiser le monde domestique, les lieux de mémoire et une nature paisible, qui fait écho au formidable instinct de survie de la résistante. Apparaissent aussi en transparence des extraits d’une correspondance qui précisent peu à peu la relation de la réalisatrice à la protagoniste, écrites par celle qui est le point de jonction entre les deux femmes – petite-fille de l’une, compagne de l’autre. Le cheminement parallèle des trois personnages, sur plusieurs années et par-delà la mort, mène à une conclusion qui tombe sous le sens : il n’est pas nécessaire d’être héroïque pour être des Partisanes ; nous nous devons d’être des Partisanes.

Olivia Cooper-Hadjian

  • Marta Popivoda, née en 1982 en Serbie, est une réalisatrice, artiste vidéo et chercheuse qui vit à Berlin. Son travail s’intéresse aux tensions entre souvenir et histoire, entre corps collectifs et corps individuels, ainsi qu’entre l’idéologie et la vie quotidienne, en se focalisant notamment sur les potentialités antifascistes et féministes du projet socialiste yougoslave. Privilégiant la pratique collective dans le cinéma et la recherche, elle est membre du collectif TkH («Théorie en marche») depuis plusieurs années. Le premier documentaire de Popivoda, intitulé Yougoslavie, Comment l’idéologie a mû notre corps collectif, a été présenté à la 63e Berlinale et a été par la suite projeté à de nombreux festivals du film dans le monde.

Production : Jasmina Sijercic, Dragana Jovović, Marta Popivoda
Image : Ivan Marković
Son : Jakov Munižaba, Simon Apostolou
Montage : Jelena Maksimovic
Press Kit

Dans la même section

The I and S of Lives

Kevin Jerome Everson
2021États-Unis7 min

Flowers Blooming in Our Throats

Eva Giolo
2020Italie9 min

The Inheritance

Ephraim Asili
2020États-Unis100 min