ParisDoc Works-in-Progress

Kapr Code

Kapr

Lucie Králová

Czech Republic, Slovakia

A Documentary Opera featuring the contradictory life of progressive composer and prominent communist Jan Kapr (1914-88), Stalin award laureate, later banned in socialist Czechoslovakia. While Kapr’s life escalates towards pivotal moments, we follow opera songs reflecting these life junctures, establishing an artist’s fate. The film explores the nature of memory, and narration, using Kapr’s personal, never before seen amateur films manifesting his humor and desire to leave traces for eternity.

  • Lucie Kralova, Ph.D. is acclaimed Czech director and FAMU lecturer. Her docs, often shot on 16mm, screened at many international festivals received number of awards: e.g. 2x Best Czech Doc at Jihlava IDFF for ILL-FATED CHILD (2003) and SOLD (2005), Crystal Globe for Best Feature Doc at Karlovy Vary IFF for intrationally distributed LOST HOLIDAY (2007); film PUBLIC ILLEGALITY (2011) received prize for Most Original Doc at Finale IFF. Lucie also works as dramaturgist on significant docs, e.g CAUGHT IN THE NET (2020) by Klusák/Chalupová, the most successful Czech doc in cinemas ever.

  • Mindset was founded in 2016 by Prague-based producer Andrea Shaffer, whom is in the film industry for over 20 years. She is also an executive at top VFX and post-production studio based in Prague that co-produces independent films such as Un Certain Regard winner A Man of Integrity and others. Mindset is solely committed to the creation and production of film and is particularly oriented towards author-driven films which hold a high standard of content and form.

     

 

Production : Mindset Pictures (Andrea Shaffer), DOCUfilm Praha
Coproduction : Czech Television, VIRUSfilm Slovakia, MagicLab Czech Republic
Statut : post-production
Completion : June 2021
Screening version length : 94 mn
Expected final length : 90 mn
Funds : Czech Film Fund, South Moravian Film Fund, The Ministry of Culture of the Czech Republic, The Slovak Audiovisual Fund  
In partnership with:

CONTACTS

production : andrea@mindsetpictures.com

You might also be interested in

The Moment of Transition

Chiara Marotta
Italy

Gwetto

Michaël Andrianaly
Madagascar

Uprising

Laurie Lassalle
France

ParisDoc Works-in-Progress

Kapr Code

Kapr

Lucie Králová

République Tchèque, Slovaquie

Un opéra documentaire mettant en scène la vie contradictoire du compositeur progressiste et communiste Jan Kapr (1914-88), lauréat du prix Staline, plus tard interdit dans la Tchécoslovaquie socialiste. Alors que la vie de Kapr s’intensifie, nous suivons des chansons d’opéra reflétant les moments charnières de sa vie et retraçant le destin d’un artiste. Le film explore la nature de la mémoire et de la narration, en utilisant les films amateurs personnels de Kapr, jamais vus auparavant, qui manifestent son humour et son désir de laisser son empreinte pour l’éternité.

  • Lucie Kralova, docteur en philosophie, est une réalisatrice tchèque reconnue et une conférencière de la FAMU. Ses documentaires, souvent tournés en 16 mm, présentés dans de nombreux festivals internationaux ont reçu de nombreux prix : par exemple, 2x Meilleur documentaire tchèque à l’IDFF de Jihlava pour ILL-FATED CHILD (2003) et SOLD (2005), Crystal Globe pour le meilleur long métrage documentaire à l’IFF de Karlovy Vary pour LOST HOLIDAY (2007), distribué au niveau national ; le film PUBLIC ILLEGALITY (2011) a reçu le prix du documentaire le plus original à la Finale IFF. Lucie travaille également comme dramaturge sur des documentaires importants, comme CAUGHT IN THE NET (2020) de Klusák/Chalupová, le documentaire tchèque le plus réussi jamais sorti en salle.

  • Mindset a été fondé en 2016 par la productrice Andrea Shaffer, basée à Prague, qui travaille dans l’industrie du cinéma depuis plus de 20 ans. Elle est également cadre à la tête de VFX et d’un studio de post-production basé à Prague qui coproduit des films indépendants tels que A Man of Integrity, lauréat d’Un Certain Regard, et d’autres. Mindset se consacre exclusivement à la création et à la production de films et est particulièrement orientée vers les films d’auteur qui ont un haut niveau de contenu et de forme.

     

Production : Mindset Pictures (Andrea Shaffer), DOCUfilm Praha
Coproduction : Czech Television, VIRUSfilm Slovakia, MagicLab Czech Republic
État d'avancement : post-production
Date de finalisation : juin 2021
Durée projetée : 94 min
Durée finale estimée : 90 min
Financements : Czech Film Fund, South Moravian Film Fund, The Ministry of Culture of the Czech Republic, The Slovak Audiovisual Fund
Organisé en partenariat avec :

CONTACTS

production : andrea@mindsetpictures.com

Dans la même section

Of Dogs and Gods

Laurent Van Lancker
Belgium, France

A Thousand Fires

Saeed Taji Farouky
France, Switzerland, Netherlands, Palestine