#02 French Selection

Ivre de soule

Skander Mestiri

2021France29 mn

The year 2020 is a difficult one for U.S.D.B., the amateur rugby club that represents Dieulefit, a small town in southern France. The number of lost matches is growing and they face the humiliation of being downgraded in the regional ranking. A decisive match is soon to be played at home in Dieulefit. The stakes are higher than ever: save the club’s honour, make their fans, family and pals proud, and defend their home territory.

____

Given his sense of detail and his defamiliarizing approach, Skander Mestiri could well have been a contributor to Matjaž Ivanišin’s study of serious games in the film Playing Men. Here too, the stakes seem high. “It’s more than love”, says one of the players. The faces and hands that the young filmmaker caresses with his DV camera eye structure the web of affects that sustains the USDB, a rugby team from the Drôme region. Infiltrating the heart of this group, he probes what holds it together. There is the closeness of bodies that rub shoulders, catch each other and intertwine. And the voices that join in shaky unison to fashion bawdy or ancestral songs. The fluids that bathe them: the shower that unsticks the mud, the beer that refreshes burning throats. Rather than contradicting clichés, Skander Mestiri confronts them head on so as to seize what underpins them. When questioned, some players mention the clear-cut roles that govern the group’s harmony. The filmmaker too plays his role and, by fully assuming his own function, manages to find his place among these men. Even though Ivre de soule espouses the fever of the game, it also establishes a distance so as to better reshape it, impose its rhythm, reconstruct a space, and displace the drama played out at each match. The medieval-style synthetic music by Gonfano helps shift the sport onto strange territory, far from any heroising lyricism: the stakes of victory or defeat seem to have the sole function of giving the group a purpose that will encourage its cohesion.

Olivia Cooper-Hadjian

  • Born in 1996 in the Lilas district of Seine-Saint-Denis, Skander Mestiri made his first films in 2018 while studying art. At first, he focussed wholly on drawing and engraving techniques, but half-way through his studies, he began to work with photography, which immediately made him want to make films that mix fiction and documentary.

Production, cinematography, sound, editing : Skander Mestiri
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Désir d’une île

Laetitia Farkas
2021France80 mn

Living with Imperfection

Antoine Polin
2020France66 mn

#02 Sélection française

Ivre de soule

Skander Mestiri

2021France29 min

L’an 2020 est une année difficile pour l’«U.S.D.B.», le club de rugby amateur qui représente Dieulefit, petite ville du sud de la France. Les matchs perdus s’accumulent et la dégringolade dans le classement régional leur pend au nez. Un match décisif est prévu pour bientôt. Il se jouera à domicile, à Dieulefit. L’enjeu est alors décuplé : sauver l’honneur du club, rendre fier le public, la famille et les copains; défendre sa propre terre.

___

Avec son sens du détail et son approche défamiliarisante, Skander Mestiri aurait pu contribuer à l’étude de jeux sérieux réalisée par Matjaž Ivanišin dans son film Playing Men. Ici aussi, l’enjeu semble de taille. « C’est plus que de l’amour », dit l’un des joueurs. Les visages et les mains que le jeune cinéaste caresse avec l’œil de sa caméra DV structurent le réseau d’affects qui soutient l’USDB, une équipe de rugby drômoise. En s’infiltrant au sein de ce groupe, il sonde ce qui le soude. Il y a la proximité des corps qui se côtoient, s’attrapent et s’enlacent. Les voix qui forment des unissons précaires pour donner forme à des chants paillards ou ancestraux. Les fluides qui les baignent : la douche qui décolle la boue, la bière qui rafraîchit les gorges échauffées. Plutôt que de vouloir faire mentir les clichés, Skander Mestiri s’y confronte de plein fouet pour saisir leur fondement. Interrogés, certains joueurs évoquent les rôles bien définis qui régissent l’harmonie du groupe. Le cinéaste, lui aussi, joue le sien, et c’est en affirmant sa propre fonction qu’il trouve une place parmi ces hommes. Autant qu’il épouse la fièvre du jeu, Ivre de soule sait s’en distancer pour mieux lui donner forme, imposer son rythme, reconstruire un espace, et déplacer le drame qui se joue à chaque match. La musique médiévalo-synthétique de Gonfano achève de déplacer le sport vers un territoire étrange, loin de tout lyrisme héroïsant : l’enjeu de la victoire ou de la défaite semble avoir pour seule fonction de donner au groupe un but qui en favorisera la cohésion.

Olivia Cooper-Hadjian

  • Né en 1996 aux Lilas (Seine-Saint-Denis), Skander Mestiri réalise ses premiers films en 2018 durant ses études artistiques. Après s’être entièrement consacré aux techniques du dessin et de la gravure, il entame, en plein milieu de son cursus, un travail de photographie qui lui inspire aussitôt des envies de réalisations, entre fiction et documentaire.

Production, image, son, montage : Skander Mestiri
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Corps Samples

Astrid de la Chapelle
2021France14 mn

Foedora

Judith Abensour
2021France80 mn

Nightvision

Clara Claus
2021France37 mn