#11 European Classic Documentary Film Meetings 2021

Irlande, terre promise

Hélène Châtelain

198245 min

The Avignon Festival, 1982. Drawing on his experience in Northern Ireland, playwright Armand Gatti presented his play, Le Labyrinthe (The Maze) and his film, Nous étions tous des noms d’arbres (The Writing on the Wall), which is a  “documentary fiction” with the inhabitants of the town of Derry in Ulster. Hélène Chatelain’s film, Irlande, terre promise, strolls through Gatti’s film, its shooting and its context, at the height of the unequal war between the British police and security forces and the Republican rebellion. She shakes up the codes of a classical “making-of” to create a singular object that plays on the texture of heterogeneous images: black-and-white and colour video images, celluloid film excerpts, archive footage… An astonishingly modern visual and poetic assemblage.

  • The filmmaker : Writer, translator and editor of dissident Soviet literature, Hélène Châtelain (1935-2020) pioneered the use of video. In the 1970s, in the middle of a successful acting career in theatre, she seized upon the first cameras to make dissident and poetic films, at the intersection of the libertarian movement (Nestor Makhno, paysan d’Ukraine, 1995), Russia (Goulag, 2000) and theatre (Chant public devant deux chaises électriques, 2004). She has authored some twenty outstanding documentaries, all in video and marked by remarkably skilful use of commentary, which resonates with the warm voice that is unmistakably hers.

  • The restorer:
    Since 1975, Bibliothèque nationale de France has been a repository for the legal deposit of video material, for which it is now the reference institution in France. Launched in 2015 with the “SCUM Manifesto” (Carole Roussopoulos and Delphine Seyrig, 1976), its digital restoration branch is one of the world’s few structures specifically dedicated to video stored on magnetic tape.  With three to four works restored each year, the BnF has developed expertise in analysing, processing and eliminating basic defects specific to the original analogue videotape or those caused by aging – thus allowing this heritage to be rediscovered..
    Hélène Châtelain’s film was restored by Jean-Yves Le Gouill, Gérald Robin, Cédric Bergeat and David Guillaume, supervised by Danielle Maricar and Alain Carou, in coordination with the association, La Parole errante.

Production : Production les Voyelles
Restorer : BNF
Status : Restoration is complete
Availability date : This first restoration project for Hélène Chatelain’s video work will be followed by two other restorations scheduled for 2021–2022: Les gens de la moitié du chemin (1985) and Nestor Makhno, paysan d'Ukraine (1995)
In partnership with:

You might also be interested in

De Cierta Manera

Sara Gomez
197374 min

Marée noire et colère rouge

René Vautier
197865 min

ROUND TABLE – Given widespread dematerialisation, the video publishing of the future,

with the participation of the Appel des 85
accessible to French speakers only

#11 Rendez-vous européens du documentaire de patrimoine 2021

Irlande, terre promise

Hélène Châtelain

198245 min

Festival d’Avignon, 1982. Autour de son expérience en Irlande du Nord, le dramaturge Armand Gatti présente sa pièce de théâtre Le Labyrinthe et son long métrage Nous étions tous des noms d’arbres, film de “fiction documentaire” avec des habitants de la ville de Derry, dans l’Ulster. Irlande, terre promise réalisé par Hélène Chatelain, arpente ce film, son tournage et son contexte, au plus fort de la guerre inégale entre les forces de l’ordre britanniques et la rébellion républicaine. Bousculant les codes du “making-of” classique, elle crée un objet unique qui joue avec la texture d’images hétérogènes : images vidéos noir et blanc et en couleurs, extraits de film sur pellicule, images d’archives… Un assemblage visuel et poétique d’une étonnante modernité.

  • La réalisatrice :  Écrivaine, traductrice, éditrice de la littérature soviétique dissidente, Hélène Châtelain (1935-2020) est une pionnière de l’usage de la vidéo. Dès les années 70, alors qu’elle mène une belle carrière de comédienne au théâtre, elle s’empare des premières caméras pour réaliser une œuvre à la fois dissidente et poétique, à la croisée du mouvement libertaire (Nestor Makhno, paysan d’Ukraine, 1995), de la Russie (Goulag, 2000) et du théâtre (Chant public devant deux chaises électriques, 2004). Elle est l’auteure d’une vingtaine de documentaires singuliers, tous réalisés en vidéo, marqués par un art remarquable du commentaire que fait entendre sa voix chaude et reconnaissable entre toutes.

  • Le restaurateur : Depuis 1975, la Bibliothèque nationale de France est dépositaire du dépôt légal de la vidéo dont elle est l’institution de référence en France. Lancée en 2015 avec “SCUM Manifesto” (Carole Roussopoulos et Delphine Seyrig, 1976), sa filière de restauration numérique est l’une des rares au monde spécialement dédiée à la vidéo sur bande magnétique. Au rythme de trois à quatre œuvres restaurées par an, la BnF a développé une expertise dans l’analyse, le traitement et la suppression des défauts propres au support vidéo analogique d’origine ou créés par le passage du temps, permettant la redécouverte de ce patrimoine.
    La restauration des films d’Hélène Châtelain est effectuée par Jean-Yves Le Gouill, Gérald Robin, Cédric Bergeat et David Guillaume, sous la supervision de Danielle Maricar et Alain Carou, en lien avec La Parole errante.

Production : Production les Voyelles
Restaurateur : BNF
État d’avancement : la restauration est terminée
Date de disponibilité : Ce premier projet de restauration de l'œuvre vidéo d’Hélène Chatelain sera suivi de deux autres restaurations programmées pour 2021-2022 : Les gens de la moitié du chemin (1985) et Nestor Makhno, paysan d'Ukraine (1995)
Organisé en partenariat avec :

Dans la même section

De Cierta Manera

Sara Gomez
197374 min

Marée noire et colère rouge

René Vautier
197865 min

Sambizanga

Sarah Maldoror
1972102 min