#02 French Selection

Incandescence des hyènes

Nicolas Matos Ichaso

2021France54 mn

In Ethiopia, Harari blacksmiths have the reputation of turning themselves into hyenas and roaming the streets of the old city. An immersion in the work of Ethiopian blacksmiths, who live on the fringes of society. As a backdrop, the unnerving nocturnal beauty of Harar and its inhabitants’ passion for khat. At night, working bodies change shape and the possibility of metamorphosing from blacksmith into hyena creates a shift in reality.

____

After a daylight prelude, Incandescence des hyènes unfolds wholly in the depths of night in Harar, Ethiopia. Embers glow red in the twilight; blacksmiths plunge their metal in to shape it more easily. The film builds a muffled symphony of colours and sounds typically found at that hour in the city and surrounding nature. The green of khat leaves flies off from the market and splashes onto the walls of the hut where they are consumed. The street lighting splits the figure of the walking blacksmith into nearby silhouettes. The sound of hammer blows ring out everywhere but, as we approach the forge, our attention is drawn to the roar of the fire. Nicolas Matos Ichaso listens to the blacksmiths’ silence and observes their gestures through a symbolist rather than anthropological prism that highlights their forms and rhythms. Work is disconnected from its function, represented as a present moment that animates the body, makes it tense up, gives it a rhythm. The psychotropic khat weighs the body down but also lifts it up, to the point of trance. The organism itself is fragmented, separated from everything that links each part to the elements around it and to the light that models it. This furnishes the link with the legend whereby local blacksmiths change into hyenas once night has fallen. The atmosphere in which men and animals are steeped is so dense that it conjures up unexpected shifts from one realm to another. Howls announce the appearance of the beasts, and a poem unleashes their mythical power.

Olivia Cooper-Hadjian

  • Born in 1982, Nicolas Matos Ichaso lives and works in Saint Etienne, France. After several trips to Southern Asia and Africa, he turned to visual anthropology studies and focused his work on blacksmiths in Ethiopia. In 2016, he joined the Ardèche Images Documentary School in Lussas, France. Glow of the Hyenas is his first documentary film.

Production : La Fabrica Nocturna Cinéma
Cinematography : Nicolas Matos Ichaso, Mehdi Baouzzi
Sound : Nicolas Matos Ichaso, Arthur Moget
Editing : Camille Mouton
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Garage, des moteurs et des hommes

Claire Simon
2021France71 mn

Kindertotenlieder

Virgil Vernier
2021France27 mn

Nightvision

Clara Claus
2021France37 mn

#02 Sélection française

Incandescence des hyènes

Nicolas Matos Ichaso

2021France54 min

En Ethiopie, les forgerons de Harar ont la réputation de se transformer en hyènes, pour rôder dans la vieille ville. Une plongée dans le travail des ferronniers éthiopiens, déclassés socialement, avec en toile de fond la beauté nocturne de Harar et sa passion pour le khât. La nuit, derrière la modification des corps au travail et la possible métamorphose des forgerons en hyènes, naît un basculement du réel.

___

Passé un prélude diurne, Incandescence des hyènes se déploie intégralement au cœur de la nuit d’Harar, en Éthiopie. Dans la pénombre rougeoient des braises ; des forgerons y fourrent du métal pour mieux le façonner. Le film construit une symphonie sourde de couleurs et de sons, propres à ce moment de la ville et de la nature qui la borde. Le vert des feuilles de khât s’envole du marché pour aller éclabousser les murs de la case où elles sont consommées. L’éclairage des rues dédouble la figure du forgeron marcheur en silhouettes voisines. Le son des coups de marteaux se répand partout, mais lorsque l’on s’approche de l’atelier, c’est le vacarme du feu qui accapare l’esprit. Nicolas Matos Ichaso écoute le silence des forgerons et observe leurs gestes, selon une approche symboliste plutôt qu’anthropologique, qui en extrait des formes et des rythmes. Le travail est détaché de sa fonction, représenté comme un présent qui anime le corps, le tend, lui donne une cadence. Le khât psychotrope le leste et l’élève aussi, jusqu’à la transe. L’organisme lui-même est morcelé, séparation du tout qui lie chaque partie aux éléments qui l’entourent et à la lumière qui la modèle. Ainsi s’opère la jonction avec le mythe selon lequel les forgerons du cru se transforment en hyènes la nuit venue. L’atmosphère dans laquelle hommes et animaux baignent est si épaisse qu’elle convoque des glissements impromptus d’un règne à un autre. Des cris annoncent l’apparition des bêtes, et un poème en déploie la puissance mythique.

Olivia Cooper-Hadjian

  • Nicolas Matos Ichaso est né en 1982. Il vit et travaille à Saint-Etienne. Après de nombreux voyages en Asie du Sud-Est et en Afrique, il s’oriente vers l’anthropologie visuelle en axant son travail notamment sur les forgerons en Ethiopie. En parallèle, il se forme aux métiers de la ferronnerie. Il intègre en 2016 l’École du Documentaire Ardèche Image à Lussas. Incandescence des hyènes est son premier film documentaire.

Production : La Fabrica Nocturna Cinéma
Image : Nicolas Matos Ichaso, Mehdi Baouzzi
Son : Nicolas Matos Ichaso, Arthur Moget
Montage : Camille Mouton
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Un souvenir d’archives

Christophe Bisson
2021France45 min

Baleh-baleh

Pascale Bodet
2021France51 min

Kindertotenlieder

Virgil Vernier
2021France27 min