ParisDoc Works-in-Progress

The Moment of Transition

Il momento di passagio

Chiara Marotta

Italy

Two parallel paths: that of my family, who lives the faith with great intensity, in an intimate and shared way within a religious community; and my life, different from theirs because, not feeling the same belief, at the age of sixteen, I left the community. Then the two paths intertwine again through my return home, where I spend the last period of cohabitation with my family. Within the walls of my home and that of my grandmother, I observe their daily lives, a mirror of the ideals and values in which they believe, and I seek a confrontation on our different choices.

  • Chiara Marotta (1993) works as a writer, director and editor for film, video clip and spot. She is screenwriter and editor of the short film Those Bad Things, awarded for Best Editing at the 33rd Venice International Film Critics’ Week and selected at the Sundance FF 2019. She worked on the editing of the feature film Bitter years, produced by Rai Cinema and Mibact. Her short film Veronica Doesn’t Smoke received the Best Short Film Award at the 34th Venice International Film Critics’ Week. In 2020 she edited the short film Bad Mood, awarded at Dok Leipzig and Torino Film Festival, and selected at the Slamdance FF 2021.

  • In 2004 Alessandro Borrelli set up his own company, La Sarraz Pictures in Turin, Italy. He produced more than twenty projects that have been presented, and awarded, in prestigious international festivals around the world, and distributed in Italy and abroad. He’s always seeking for new Authors and original projects on the international film market. In 2012, he was selected from European Film Promotion to attend Cannes film festival in the section “Producers on the move 2012” for Italy.

     

     

 

 

Production : La Sarraz Pictures
Statut : rough cut
Completion : april 2021
Screening version length : 66 mn
Expected final length : 75 mn
Funds : MiBACT, Film Commission Regione Campania (Piano Cinema), Film Commission Torino Piemonte (Piemonte Doc Film Fund)
In partnership with:

CONTACTS

production : lasarrazdoc@gmail.com

You might also be interested in

Of Dogs and Gods

Laurent Van Lancker
Belgium, France

Brazza

Antoine Boutet
France

Kapr Code

Lucie Králová
Czech Republic, Slovakia

ParisDoc Works-in-Progress

Il momento di passagio

The Moment of Transition

Chiara Marotta

Italie

Deux chemins parallèles : celui de ma famille, qui vit la foi avec une grande intensité, de manière intime et partagée au sein d’une communauté religieuse ; et ma vie, différente de la leur car, ne ressentant pas la même foi, j’ai quitté la communauté à l’âge de seize ans. Puis les deux chemins s’entrecroisent à mon retour, pour passer la dernière période de cohabitation avec ma famille, en observant au sein de ma maison et de celle de ma grand-mère la vie quotidienne, miroir des idéaux et des valeurs auxquels ils croient, et en cherchant à comparer nos choix de vie respectifs.

  • Chiara Marotta (Italie, 1993) travaille comme scénariste, réalisatrice et monteuse pour des films, des clips vidéo et des spots publicitaires. Elle est scénariste et monteuse du court-métrage Quelle brutte cose, récompensé par le prix du meilleur montage à la 33e Semaine internationale de la critique de Venise, sélectionné au Sundance Film Festival 2019. Elle a travaillé comme monteuse sur le long métrage Gli anni amari, produit par Rai Cinema. Son court métrage Veronica non sa fumare a reçu le Prix du meilleur court métrage à la 34e Semaine internationale de la critique cinématographique de Venise. Elle a monté le court-métrage Malumore, récompensé au Dok Leipzig et au Festival du film de Turin, et sélectionné au Slamdance Film Festival 2021. Il Momento di Passaggio est son premier long métrage.

  • En 2004, Alessandro Borrelli crée sa propre société, La Sarraz Pictures, à Turin, Italie. Il a produit plus de vingt projets qui ont été présentés et récompensés dans de prestigieux festivals internationaux dans le monde entier, et distribués en Italie et à l’étranger. Il est toujours en recherche de nouveaux auteurs et projets originaux sur le marché international du film. En 2012, il a été sélectionné par European Film Promotion pour participer au festival de Cannes dans le cadre du section “Producers on the move 2012” pour l’Italie.

     

Production : La Sarraz Pictures
État d'avancement : rough cut
Date de finalisation : avril 2021
Durée projetée : 66 min
Durée finale estimée : 75 min
Financements : MiBACT, Film Commission Regione Campania (Piano Cinema), Film Commission Torino Piemonte (Piemonte Doc Film Fund)
Organisé en partenariat avec :

CONTACTS

la production : lasarrazdoc@gmail.com

Dans la même section

Kapr Code

Lucie Králová
République Tchèque, Slovaquie

Soulèvement

Laurie Lassalle
France

Of Dogs and Gods

Laurent Van Lancker
Belgique, France