ParisDoc Works-in-Progress

If I Go, Where Do I Go ?

Jaye to jaye kahan

Amit Dutta

India

Krishna Baldev Vaid was a pioneer of Hindi experimental writing. Since the 2010’s he was living in a small apartment in New York, with his daughter. At 93, after a lifetime of his love-affair with language, he feels at a loss for words. His mercurial intelligence scales his life’s journey, mostly in silence. He reads out his own work, anxious to access the ‘dance of language’, for expressing which he had paid dearly. He takes brief walks into the city, the sounds are not those of his literature. He has visitors, enacting an avant-garde play. He watches, silent, his mind in a place deeper inside him, even as his senses are alert, looking outwards.

  • Amit Dutta is a filmmaker based in India. He studied cinema at the Film & Television Institute of India (FTII). His films have won several awards including FIPRESCI at the Oberhausen Film Festival, Gold Mikaldi at Bilbao, Golden Conch at MIFF and four National Awards. Retrospectives of his work have taken place at Oberhausen, Germany; Cinéma du Réel, Centre Pompidou, Paris; and the Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive, California.

  • Ashish Avikunthak has been producing films for the past 25 years. The films produced by him have been shown worldwide in film festivals, galleries and museums including the Tate Modern, London, Centre George Pompidou, Paris, Taipei Biennial 2012, Shanghai Biennial 2014, etc. He has a PhD in Cultural and Social Anthropology from Stanford University. He is now an Associate Professor in Film/Media at Harrington School of Communication, University of Rhode Island.

Production : Self-produced by Amit Dutta
Coproduction : Ashish Avikunthak
Statut : post-production
Completion : May 2021
Screening version length : 75 mn
Expected final length : 75 mn
Funds : Self-funded

CONTACTS

33amit@gmail.com

You might also be interested in

Uprising

Laurie Lassalle
France

Water Has No Borders

Maradia Tsaava
Georgia, France

A Thousand Fires

Saeed Taji Farouky
France, Switzerland, Netherlands, Palestine

ParisDoc Works-in-Progress

If I Go, Where Do I Go ?

Jaye to jaye kahan

Amit Dutta

Inde

Krishna Baldev Vaid a été un pionnier de l’écriture expérimentale hindi. Depuis les années 2010, il vit dans un petit appartement à New York, avec sa fille. À 93 ans, après une vie entière dédiée au langage, il se sent à court de mots. Il tente de retracer son parcourt, le plus souvent en silence, l’esprit brouillé. Il lit son propre travail, soucieux d’accéder à la “danse du langage”, pour exprimer ce qui lui a coûté cher durant sa vie. Il se promène brièvement dans la ville, les sons ne sont pas ceux de sa littérature. Il reçoit des visiteurs, jouant une pièce d’avant-garde. En pleine introspection, ses sens restent en alerte, regardant vers l’extérieur.

  • Amit Dutta est un cinéaste basé en Inde. Il a étudié le cinéma au Film & Television Institute of India (FTII). Ses films ont remporté plusieurs prix, dont le FIPRESCI au Festival du film d’Oberhausen, Gold Mikaldi à Bilbao, Golden Conch au MIFF et quatre prix nationaux. Des rétrospectives de son travail ont eu lieu à Oberhausen, en Allemagne ; au Cinéma du Réel, Centre Pompidou, Paris ; et au Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive, Californie.

  • Ashish Avikunthak produit des films depuis 25 ans. Ces films ont été présentés dans le monde entier dans des festivals de cinéma, des galeries et des musées, notamment à la Tate Modern de Londres, au Centre George Pompidou de Paris, à la Biennale de Taipei 2012, à la Biennale de Shanghai 2014, etc. Titulaire d’un doctorat en anthropologie culturelle et sociale de l’université de Stanford, il est aujourd’hui professeur associé en cinéma/média à la Harrington School of Communication de l’université de Rhode Island.

Production : Auto-produit par Amit Dutta
Coproduction : Ashish Avikunthak
État d'avancement : post-production
Date de finalisation : Mai 2021
Durée projetée : 75 min
Durée finale estimée : 75 min
Financements : Auto-financé

CONTACTS

33amit@gmail.com

Dans la même section

Water Has No Borders

Maradia Tsaava
Géorgie, France

Of Dogs and Gods

Laurent Van Lancker
Belgique, France

Kapr Code

Lucie Králová
République Tchèque, Slovaquie