#02 French Selection

Garage, des moteurs et des hommes

Claire Simon

2021France71 mn

A small picturesque Provençal village. Certainly, I grew up there, but today life seems to have somewhat deserted it.  Except for the car and motorcycle repair garage where everyone, I mean the men, come to have their car serviced. What do they do? What do they talk about? A breakdown develops into a nail-biting suspense, the garage becomes the place of masculine transmission. Men are amongst themselves and repair metal bodies.

____

“We work here”, says Christophe, a repair garage owner in a village in the Haut-Var region where Claire Simon spent her childhood. Although she plunges into a mechanical world and the engine driving the film is a place of work, it is something quite different that the filmmaker has come here to find. Christophe’s garage is a bastion of relationships. People go there to have their car window repaired, their brakes changed or simply to hang around the counter of Christophe, who is impulsive and impatient but always ready to help out. Settling into a place and observing all its ups and downs is certainly a documentary practice in which Claire Simon excels. Within a few shots, we are in the garage as if in the café. There’s Romaric, Christophe’s apprentice, who has well understood that the two of them are not very different. He brings his girlfriend along and often arrives as and when he pleases. Then there are the pillars of the garage who seem to know the place of each tool and are bound together by the secret of engines. There are the women who have no manliness to prove and who keep to one side, in their assigned place. Between these men, as between Romaric and his boss, transmission is technical but also linked to the village: its stories, its quarrels and its politics, which bind them all together whether they like it or not. This place, where you could pass by without stopping long, is where ties are honed. The time allocated to the different aspects of the garage is fine-tuned by the filmmaker. The camera plunges into the heart of the mechanics and takes time for side conversations and rumours to discover, behind the most complicated circuits, the complexity of these relationships – between those who have the knowledge and those who don’t yet know, between the young and old, between women and men. 

Clémence Arrivé

  • Claire Simon is a French filmmaker. She discovered the art of direct cinema in the Ateliers Varan and made her first documentaries including c (1995) and Récréations (1998). She has also written and directed three feature-length dramas:  Sinon oui  (1997), Ça brûle (2005) and  Les Bureaux de Dieu (2008). She also made the documentary Gare du Nord (2013), Le Bois dont les rêves sont faits (2016) and Le Concours (2017). After her 2020 documentary series,  Le Village, (20 x 26-min episodes), in 2021 Claire Simon made the documentary Le Fils de l’épicière, le Maire, le Village et le Monde, due for release this year.

Production : Petit à petit production (Rebecca Houzel)
Cinematography : Claire Simon
Editing : Luc Forveille
Sound : Frédéric Buy
Original music : Nicolas Repac
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Nightvision

Clara Claus
2021France37 mn

Avant que le ciel n’apparaisse

Denis Gheerbrant
2021France85 min

Baleh-baleh

Pascale Bodet
2021France51 mn

#02 Sélection française

Garage, des moteurs et des hommes

Claire Simon

2021France71 min

Un joli petit village provençal. Certes j’y ai grandi, mais aujourd’hui la vie semble l’avoir un peu déserté. Sauf là, au garage auto/moto où tous, c’est-à-dire les hommes, viennent entretenir leur voiture. Que font-ils ? De quoi parlent-ils ? Une panne vire au casse-tête à suspense, le garage devient le lieu de la transmission masculine. Les hommes sont entre eux et réparent des corps de métal.

___

« On travaille, ici », lance Christophe, garagiste dans un village du Haut-Var où Claire Simon a passé son enfance. Si elle nous fait plonger dans un monde mécanique et si le moteur du film est un lieu de travail, c’est aussi tout autre chose qu’est venue chercher la cinéaste ici. Le garage de Christophe est une forteresse pour les relations. On passe au garage pour réparer sa vitre, changer ses freins ou simplement traîner au comptoir de Christophe, impulsif, impatient, mais toujours prêt à dépanner. S’installer dans un lieu et en observer tous les revers, c’est bien une pratique documentaire où Claire Simon excelle. En quelques plans, on est au garage comme au café. Il y a Romaric, l’apprenti de Christophe, qui a bien compris que les deux n’étaient pas si éloignés, qui ramène sa copine et arrive un peu à l’heure qu’il veut. Il y a les piliers du garage qui semblent connaître la place de chaque outil, liés par le secret des moteurs. Il y a les femmes qui n’ont pas de virilité à exposer ici et restent plus à l’écart, à la place qui leur est assignée. Entre ces hommes, comme entre Romaric et son patron, la transmission est technique, mais aussi liée au village : ses histoires, ses querelles, ses politiques qui les relient tous et toutes, qu’ils le veuillent ou non. C’est dans ce lieu où l’on pourrait passer sans s’attarder que s’aiguisent les liens. Le temps accordé aux facettes du garage est ajusté par la cinéaste. La caméra s’engouffre au cœur de la mécanique et prend le temps des apartés et des rumeurs afin de découvrir, derrières les circuits les plus compliqués, la complexité des rapports : entre ceux qui détiennent le savoir et ceux qui ne savent pas encore, entre les jeunes et les anciens, entre les femmes et les hommes. 

Clémence Arrivé

  • Claire Simon est une cinéaste française. Elle découvre la pratique du cinéma direct aux Ateliers Varan et signe alors ses premiers documentaires parmi lesquels Coûte que coûte (1995) et Récréations (1998). Claire Simon a également écrit et réalisé trois longs métrages de fiction : Sinon oui (1997),  Ça brûle (2005), et Les Bureaux de Dieu (2008). Elle a également réalisé le documentaire Gare du Nord (2013)  Le bois dont les rêves sont faits (2016) et Le Concours (2017). Après sa série documentaire, Le Village, (20 épisodes de 26 minutes) en 2020, Claire Simon signe en 2021 le documentaire Le Fils de l’épicière, le Maire, le Village et le Monde, dont la sortie est prévue en salle en 2021.

Production : Petit à petit production (Rebecca Houzel)
Image : Claire Simon
Montage : Luc Forveille
Son : Frédéric Buy
Musique originale : Nicolas Repac
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Désir d’une île

Laetitia Farkas
2021France80 min

Random Patrol

Yohan Guignard
2021France30 min

Corps Samples

Astrid de la Chapelle
2021France14 min