#01 International Selection

FREIZEIT or: the opposite of doing nothing

FREIZEIT oder: das gegenteil von nichtstun

Caroline Pitzen

2021Germany71 mn

Berlin. Summer 2018. They are 17 years old. The diverse neighborhood they grew up in is one big construction site, where people have to give way to the dreams of others. They drift through the city and wonder how anyone will be able to live in this city in the future. They are always in discussion: about everyday sexism, the individual’s responsibility for the system in which we live. What is happening and what should happen is in contradiction, but they keep faith.

© OKNO and Markus Koob

_____

Caroline Pitzen’s first feature-length film opens with a prologue on the set of the Austrian talk show Club2: the queer author Ronald M. Schernikau is asked a question about a sentence in his novel Kleinstadtnovelle, which he wrote at the age of 18 while still at high school and thirteen years before he died from AIDS-related causes. According to Schernikau, not only are the spaces of political exchange accessible to youth not listened to, but this deafness of the elites can be seen at all stages of democracy; everything leads us to think that there is no alternative, during our free time, but to do nothing – a variant of well-known economic propaganda. Pitzen, on the contrary, defends the idea that revolutionary politics can exist only in leisure activities. FREIZEIT or: the opposite of doing nothing follows five youngsters in today’s Berlin in their free time given over to casual discussions, reading books and articles (Theobald Tiger, Marx, Engels…), watching pre-war communist films (Kuhle Wampe, 1930, by Slatan Dudow, written by Bertolt Brecht), and collectively inventing modes of political action in a formerly East-German neighbourhood, now in the grips of a pernicious gentrification. This is the material – dense yet airy, positive yet worried – for a film that in many respects echoes People on Sunday (1930) by Siodmak, Ulmer and Wilder, and which works on reality with the perseverance of a fictional process, whereby non-actors become genuine political subjects.

Antoine Thirion

  • Caroline Pitzen (born in 1986 in Berlin) is a filmmaker and artistic researcher. She studied Cultural Studies in Frankfurt/Oder and Madrid and afterwards Art and Media at the University of the Arts Berlin. Her graduation film Out of Place premiered at the Festival de Films de Femmes de Créteil in 2017. Since 2016, she has been teaching documentary film within the international film education programme, Cinema en curs. She is co-founder of Atelier Izola, a collective studio of female artists, writers and researchers, as well as of OKNO, a collective platform for filmic art production and artistic collaborations. FREIZEIT oder: das gegenteil von nichtstun is her first feature film. She lives and works in Berlin.
    © Stefanie Kulisch

Production : OKNO (Caroline Pitzen, Ljupcho Temelkovski, Philipp Fröhlich)
Cinematography : Markus Koob
Sound : Philipp Fröhlich, SHEN Sum-Sum, Christian Obermaier, Jochen Jezussek
Editing : Caroline Pitzen
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Feast

Tim Leyendekker
2021Netherlands84 mn

The I and S of Lives

Kevin Jerome Everson
2021United States7 mn

Flowers Blooming in Our Throats

Eva Giolo
2020Italy9 mn

#01 Sélection internationale

FREIZEIT or: the opposite of doing nothing

FREIZEIT oder: das gegenteil von nichtstun

Caroline Pitzen

2021Allemagne71 min

Berlin, été 2018. Ils ont 17 ans. Le quartier multiculturel où ils ont grandi n’est plus qu’un grand site en construction, où les habitants doivent céder leur place aux rêves d’autres personnes. Ils errent dans la ville et se demandent comment des gens pourront vivre dans cette ville à l’avenir. Ils discutent de tout : du sexisme quotidien, de notre responsabilité individuelle dans le système où l’on vit… Bien que le monde n’évolue pas comme il le devrait, ils gardent néanmoins la foi.

© OKNO and Markus Koob

____

Le premier long métrage de Caroline Pitzen débute par un prologue sur le plateau du talk-show autrichien Club2 : une question y est posée à l’auteur queer Ronald M. Schernikau sur une phrase de son roman Kleinstadtnovelle, écrit à l’âge de 18 ans alors qu’il était encore au lycée, treize ans avant sa mort des suites du Sida. Selon Schernikau, non seulement les espaces de constitution politique disponibles à la jeunesse ne sont pas écoutés, mais cette surdité des élites se vérifie à tous les stades de la démocratie ; tout porterait donc à croire qu’il n’y a pas d’autre possibilité, durant son temps libre, que de ne rien faire – variante de la propagande économique bien connue. À l’inverse, Pitzen défend l’idée selon laquelle il n’y a de politique révolutionnaire que dans le loisir. FREIZEIT or: the opposite of doing nothing suit aujourd’hui cinq jeunes berlinois dans un temps libre consacré à des discussions informelles, des lectures de livres et d’articles (Theobald Tiger, Marx, Engels…), des visionnages de films communistes d’avant-guerre (Kuhle Wampe, 1930, réalisé par Slatan Dudow et écrit par Bertolt Brecht), et à l’invention collective de modes d’action politique dans un ancien quartier de l’Est aujourd’hui en proie à une gentrification délétère. C’est la matière dense et néanmoins aérée, à la fois positive et inquiète d’un film qui, faisant à bien des égards écho aux Hommes le dimanche (1930) de Siodmak, Ulmer et Wilder, travaille le réel avec la persévérance d’un processus de fiction, par lequel des non-acteurs se constituent en véritables sujets politiques.

Antoine Thirion

____

Lire l’entretien avec la réalisatrice sur le blog Mediapart de Cinéma du réel

  • Caroline Pitzen (née en 1986 à Berlin) est cinéaste et chercheuse dans le domaine des pratiques artistiques. Elle a étudié les Cultural studies à Francfort-sur-l’Oder et à Madrid, puis l’art et les médias à l’université des arts de Berlin. La première projection de Out of Place, son film de fin d’études, a eu lieu au Festival de Films de Femmes de Créteil en 2017. Depuis 2016, elle enseigne le cinéma documentaire dans le cadre du programme international de formation au cinéma « Cinéma en cours ». Elle a cofondé l’Atelier Izola, un studio collectif de femmes artistes, écrivaines et chercheuses, ainsi qu’OKNO, une plateforme collective de production de projets cinématographiques et de collaboration artistique. FREIZEIT oder : das gegenteil von nichtstun est son premier long-métrage. Elle vit et travaille à Berlin.
    © Stefanie Kulisch

Production : OKNO (Caroline Pitzen, Ljupcho Temelkovski, Philipp Fröhlich)
Image : Markus Koob
Son : Philipp Fröhlich, SHEN Sum-Sum, Christian Obermaier, Jochen Jezussek
Montage : Caroline Pitzen
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Odoriko

Yoichiro Okutani
2020Japan, United States, France114 min

Tellurian Drama

Riar Rizaldi
2020Indonesia26 mn

Flowers Blooming in Our Throats

Eva Giolo
2020Italy9 mn