#01 International Selection

Flowers Blooming in Our Throats

Eva Giolo

2020Italy9 mn

Filmed in 16mm just after the lockdown caused by COVID-19, a portrait of the fragile balances that govern everyday life in a domestic setting. Gestures remain symbolically ambiguous, expressing a kind of violence that is not immediately recognizable.

____

There may be a virtue to the health crisis and the ordeal of lockdown: it has allowed a renewed focus on the infra-ordinary, amidst the whiteness of a daily life reduced to its simplest expression. Hence, the seemingly banal gestures that are roundly inventoried by Eva Giolo’s film: opening a window or drawer, brushing long hair, cutting a fruit, rolling a rubber band up a wrist or spinning a top with enough momentum for it to maintain its precarious balance. And then, from one body to the other, for the other, against the other: hugging, embracing, caressing, massaging, playfully hitting. Here, we take a look at the pantomime made invisible by routine. And, first of all, we listen to it so as to feel it more acutely – Flowers Blooming in Our Throats has the haptic quality of films that are attentive to the music of things. And if we need to listen closely, this is because the gestures have something to say. For, while their ritualised enactment for the camera gives the impression of dealing with a miniature Pina Bausch piece, this is because the embrace is eager to reveal its underlying grip. All you need is a red filter slipped in front of the lens as a test of truth, a blood-coloured filter borrowed from Hitchcock’s Marnie in order to thwart the seeming gentleness of the gestures’ choreography. The value of such in-depth observation and listening is that it reveals the secret world of the raging impulses crouched under the reassuring physiognomy of daily life.

Jérôme Momcilovic

  • Eva Giolo (b.1991 Brussels) is an audiovisual artist mainly working with the moving image. Her work consists of cinematic poems that show a propensity to capture family stories – of her own or of another. Using documentary strategies, she paints film portraits and creates a window onto invisible, usually private, inner worlds. Her interest lies in capturing the everyday, the coming-into-being of language, filiation as transmission, learning and teaching as a labour of love.
    Giolo obtained her MFA at the Royal Academy of Arts in Ghent and Kanazawa College of Art in Japan. She is a founding member of the production and distribution platform elephy.

Production : Fondazione In Between Art Film, Elephy
Cinematography, editing : Eva Giolo
Sound : Simonluca Laitempergher
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Faraway My Shadow Wandered

Liao Jiekai
Sudhee Liao
2020Singapore, Taiwan, Japan70 mn

Rock Bottom Riser

Fern Silva
2021United States70 mn

The Filmmaker’s House

Marc Isaacs
2020United Kingdom75 mn

#01 Sélection internationale

Flowers Blooming in Our Throats

Eva Giolo

2020Italie9 min

Filmée en 16 mm juste après le confinement lié à la pandémie de Covid-19, une description de l’équilibre fragile sur lequel repose notre quotidien domestique. Les gestes demeurent ambigus au niveau symbolique et expriment une forme de violence qui n’est pas immédiatement discernable.

____

Il y a peut-être une vertu à concéder à la crise sanitaire et à l’épreuve du confinement : celle d’avoir permis, dans la blancheur d’un quotidien ramené à sa plus simple expression, une attention renouvelée à l’infra-ordinaire. Ainsi des gestes, d’apparence anodine, dont le film d’Eva Giolo fait le répertoire raisonné : ouvrir une fenêtre ou un tiroir, brosser des cheveux longs, couper un fruit, faire rouler un élastique le long d’un poignet ou donner à une toupie l’impulsion nécessaire à son précaire équilibre. Et puis, d’un corps à l’autre, pour l’autre, contre l’autre : serrer, étreindre, caresser, masser, frapper par jeu. Cette pantomime que l’habitude a rendue invisible, il s’agit donc de la regarder, en commençant par l’écouter, pour mieux la sentir – Flowers Blooming in Our Throats a cette qualité haptique des films soucieux de la musique des choses. Et s’il faut tendre l’oreille, c’est que ces gestes ont quelque chose à dire. Car si leur exécution ritualisée pour la caméra donne tant l’impression d’avoir affaire à une pièce miniature de Pina Bausch, c’est que l’étreinte ne demande ici qu’à révéler son substrat d’emprise. Il suffit d’un filtre rouge, glissé devant l’objectif comme une épreuve de vérité, un filtre couleur de sang emprunté au Marnie d’Hitchcock, pour déjouer la douceur apparente de leur chorégraphie. C’est le prix d’un regard et d’une écoute aussi profonds, que de révéler l’arrière-monde de pulsions furieuses tapi sous la physionomie rassurante du quotidien.

Jérôme Momcilovic

  • Eva Giolo, née en 1991 à Bruxelles, est une artiste audio-visuelle qui travaille essentiellement sur le cinéma. L’œuvre de Giolo est constituée de poèmes cinématographiques qui se focalisent souvent sur des histoires familiales – qu’il s’agisse d’histoires la concernant ou concernant d’autres personnes. En adoptant une perspective documentaire, elle réalise des portraits cinématographiques et ouvre une fenêtre sur des mondes intérieurs, invisibles et souvent privés. Son intérêt se porte tout particulièrement sur la représentation du quotidien, l’émergence du langage, la filiation en tant que transmission, l’apprentissage et l’enseignement en tant que travail passionnel.
    Elle a obtenu un master en beaux-arts à l’Académie royale des beaux-arts de Gand et à l’Université des beaux-arts de Kanazawa. C’est une ancienne artiste résidente de l’institut HISK de Gand (2018-2020), de la résidence SeMA NANJI à Séoul (2020) et du centre WIELS de Brussels (2020). Elle est membre fondatrice de la plateforme de production et de distribution elephy.

Production : Fondazione In Between Art Film, Elephy
Image, montage : Eva Giolo
Son : Simonluca Laitempergher
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Patrick

Luke Fowler
2020Royaume-Uni21 min

Tellurian Drama

Riar Rizaldi
2020Indonésie26 min

Odoriko

Yoichiro Okutani
2020Japon, États-Unis, France114 min