#05 Filmmakers in their garden

Et maintenant ?

E Agora ?

Joaquim Pinto

2013Portugal164 mn

For twenty years, Joaquim Pinto has been living with HIV and hepatitis C. Exiled in the countryside near Lisbon with his husband Nuno and their dogs, Joaquim decided to stop all his activities around cinema to follow a new protocol. A filmed diary, a reflection on a survival exceeding all the prognostics, but also on love, friendship, cinema and Portugal from the revolution through to the current crisis.

Where can you find the example, find the teaching able to rectify the path of life? The film points to nothing and, fortunately, simply meanders around. Two paths, nonetheless, that are only half-revealed. The Christian path, represented by Nuno, a Christ-like figure with the same message of peace,  steeped in gospels but hostile towards bell towers. Pinto is not a believer and leaves God out of his film. Yet, he helps his lover to record the words of John and makes room for a Bible, supposedly the Book of Life but here transformed into a support emptied of the hereafter. The other path is traced by insects. What Now? opens with a slug slowly crossing the frame. It will be followed by dragonflies, bees and mantises, and reinforced by images of vegetal stalks or discreet flowers. An epiphany of the microcosm, a manifestation of the living, poles apart from man, a teeming world at our feet which Pinto contrasts with the sick desires to conquer space. Bible and beetles commune under the auspices of the infinitely renewed miracle.

There is an old legend in the West whose brilliance was highlighted by Nietzsche: only an illness that strikes you down gives access to great health, to a genuine blossoming of life, only when your failures are revealed is the world’s hidden depth revealed. It is uncertain whether Pinto subscribes to this belief, he who is trying to annihilate the imaginary that has latched onto the virus. But, taking a different path, his film ends up with a similar idea, AIDS can reveal by a process of reduction, reveal what? – not La-Vie (Life), a coarse myth, a crude trap, but rather en-vie (desire), existence traversed by intensities, a new wind of desires that have again taken on their full dimension, the germinating power of life here below.

Gabriel Bortzmeyer (Débordements.fr, 2014)

  • Joaquim Pinto seems to reveal, penetrate and thus enable us to see and feel the force-field of a love in a way rarely found in cinema. Then comes the miracle of a sort of contamination, a contagious process, akin to art’s derisory revenge on epidemics, inoculating our gaze with the most intense and reconciliatory of relationships to the other, to nature, to the very substance of a world perpetuating its survival. (Julien Gester)
    © Rui Gaudêncio

Screenplay and direction : Joaquim Pinto
Production : CRIM Produçoes Audiovisual (Joanna Ferreira, Isabel Machado et Christine Reeh)
Photography, sound, editing : Joaquim Pinto et Nuno Leonel
Mix : Olivier Do Huu
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Rose Lowder

201256 mn

When the Persimmons Grew

Hilal Baydarov
2019Azerbaijan/Austria118 mn

Rolls : 1971

Robert Huot
1972United States97 mn

#05 Cinéaste en son jardin

Et maintenant ?

E Agora ?

Joaquim Pinto

2013Portugal164 min

Depuis vingt ans Joaquim Pinto vit avec le VIH et l’hépatite C. Exilé dans la campagne de Lisbonne avec son mari Nuno et leurs chiens, Joaquim a décidé d’arrêter toutes ses activités liées au cinéma pour suivre un nouveau protocole. Un journal filmé, une réflexion sur la survie au-delà de tous les pronostics mais aussi sur l’amour, l’amitié, le cinéma et le Portugal depuis la révolution jusqu’à la crise actuelle. 

Où puiser l’exemple, d’où tirer l’enseignement apte à rectifier le chemin de la vie ? Le film ne pointe rien, et, heureusement, ne fait que promener. Deux voies toutefois, qu’il ne dégage qu’à moitié. La chrétienne, médiatisée par Nuno, sosie de Jésus et identique messager de la paix, abreuvé d’évangiles mais hostile aux clochers. Pinto ne souscrit pas à la croyance, et laisse Dieu en dehors de son film. Mais il aide son amant à enregistrer le dit de Jean, fait de la place à une Bible censément Livre de la Vie, ici transformée en viatique évidé de l’au-delà. L’autre piste est tracée par les insectes. Et maintenant ? s’ouvre sur une limace traversant lentement le plan. Elle sera suivie par des libellules, abeilles ou mantes, et épaulée par des images de tiges végétales ou de fleurs discrètes. Épiphanie du microcosme, manifestation du vivant aux antipodes de l’homme, monde grouillant à nos pieds que Pinto oppose aux désirs malades de conquête spatiale. Bible et coléoptères communient sous les auspices du miracle infiniment renouvelé.
Il y a un vieux mythe occidental auquel Nietzsche a donné tout son éclat : seule la maladie terrassante peut donner accès à la grande santé, à la vie dans son épanouissement réel, seule la mise en défaut révèle le fond masqué du monde. Pas sûr que Pinto souscrive à cette mystique, lui qui cherche à annihiler l’imaginaire agrippé au virus. Mais son film, empruntant un chemin différent, aboutit à une idée similaire, le sida révélant par réduction, quoi ?, non La-Vie, mythe épais, piège grossier, mais l’en-vie, l’existence parcourue par les intensités, le vent nouveau des désirs rétablis dans leur mesure, la puissance germinatrice de l’ici-bas.

Gabriel Bortzmeyer (Débordements.fr, 2014)

  • Joaquim Pinto paraît révéler, pénétrer, et ainsi donner à voir et ressentir comme rarement au cinéma le champ de force d’un amour. Advient alors un miracle de l’ordre de la contamination, du processus contagieux, comme une revanche dérisoire de l’art sur les épidémies, l’inoculation à nos regards de la plus intense et réconciliatrice des relations à l’autre, à la nature, à la matière même d’un monde en survivance. (Julien Gester)
    © Rui Gaudêncio

Scénario et réalisation : Joaquim Pinto
Production : CRIM Produçoes Audiovisual (Joanna Ferreira, Isabel Machado et Christine Reeh)
Image, son, montage : Joaquim Pinto et Nuno Leonel
Mixage : Olivier Do Huu
Press Kit

Dans la même section