#02 French Selection

Special Mention of the Loridan-Ivens / Cnap award 2021

Dear Hacker

Alice Lenay

2021France60 mn

The LED on my webcam started flashing for no reason. Is it possible that an observer, a hacker, a friend or ghost is currently housed in my webcam? I embark on a series of video-calls to find out what this elusive entity wants with me.

© LLUM, Don Quichotte Films

____

The green LED on Alice Lenay’s webcam has started to flash. Perhaps a presence is watching her? This is both the initial hypothesis and the ambiguous desire entertained by the filmmaker of Dear Hacker. The inquiry into the identity of the dear hacker will soon be sidelined and slide towards an examination of this desire. To this end, she makes video calls to friends to have conversations that are troubled, halting but enlightening. What is Alice really looking for? What kind of company? The technical questions give way to more sensitive explorations that give rise to beliefs in possessive bugs, and to an encounter with the ghost that one can be to oneself. In these “remote” interactions, am I merely an image or am I still a body? Am I in your room or are you in mine? Can I touch you? Alice’s interlocutors, disillusioned at times but thoroughly connected, persist. Their screens display the excesses of their conversations, rivers of waste like traces of their encounters that only some people can see. What has become of the green LED of their relations? What to let others see of us? What signals to send? If someone always has an eye on us, what would be reassuring would be that someone still cares for us. Sharing her personal message with her accomplices, the filmmaker herself becomes a presence, a hacker roped to others, who awakens their tiny lights. A tender shadow that manipulates her own image and theirs through the discrete control of a filmmaking that commands appearances and unstable encounters. 

Clémence Arrivé

  • Alice Lenay is a researcher-artist. She publishes, and creates performances and video installations, often collaboratively, which question our desire to meet others. After studying cinema and philosophy, she presented a PhD creation-research thesis in 2020 on communication with on-screen faces. Dear Hacker is her first film. 

Production : LLUM, Don Quichotte Films
Editing : Théophile Gay-Mazas
Mix : Flavia Cordey
Calibration : Raimon Gaffier
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

VENICE BEACH, CA.

Marion Naccache
2021France79 mn

Un mal sous son bras

Marie Ward
2021France16 mn

Un souvenir d’archives

Christophe Bisson
2021France45 mn

#02 Sélection française

Mention spéciale du Prix Loridan-Ivens / Cnap 2021

Dear Hacker

Alice Lenay

2021France60 min

La diode de ma webcam s’est mise à clignoter sans raison. Est-il possible qu’un observateur, un hacker, une amie ou un fantôme soit en ce moment logé dans l’objectif ? Je me lance dans une série d’appels visiophoniques pour découvrir ce que me veut cette entité
insaisissable.

© LLUM, Don Quichotte Films

___

La diode verte de la webcam d’Alice Lenay s’est mise à clignoter. Peut-être qu’une présence l’observe ? C’est à la fois l’hypothèse de départ et le désir ambigu que semble porter la cinéaste de Dear Hacker. L’enquête sur l’identité de ce cher hacker sera vite mise de côté et glissera vers l’examen de ce désir. Elle convoque pour cela des camarades à des conversations visiophoniques troubles, saccadées mais éclairantes. Qu’est-ce qu’Alice recherche vraiment ? Quelle forme de compagnie ? Les interrogations techniques laissent place à des explorations plus sensibles dont émanent des croyances en des bugs possessifs et la rencontre du fantôme que l’on peut être à soi-même. Dans ces interactions « à distance », ne suis-je qu’une image ou encore un corps ? Est-ce que je suis dans ta chambre ou dans la mienne ? Est-ce que je peux te toucher ? Les interlocuteurs d’Alice, parfois désabusés mais minutieusement connectés, persistent. Sur leurs écrans s’affichent les surplus de leurs discussions, des rivières de résidus comme des traces de leurs rencontres que seuls certains savent voir.  Où en est la diode verte de leurs relations ? Qui donner à voir aux autres ? Quels signaux envoyer ? Si quelqu’un nous tient toujours à l’œil, ce qui serait rassurant, ce serait plutôt que quelqu’un tienne toujours à nous. Partageant à ses complices son message personnel, la cinéaste devient elle-même une présence, hackeuse en rappel, réveillant les petites lumières des uns et des autres. Une ombre tendre qui manipule son image et les leurs par une maîtrise discrète d’un cinéma prenant contrôle d’apparitions et de rencontres instables.  

Clémence Arrivé

___

Lire l’entretien avec la réalisatrice sur le blog Mediapart de Cinéma du réel 

  • Alice Lenay est artiste chercheuse. Elle produit des éditions, des performances et des installations vidéo, souvent collaboratives, qui questionnent notre désir de rencontre. Après des études de cinéma et de philosophie, elle soutient en 2020 un doctorat de recherche-création sur la communication avec des visages sur écrans. Dear Hacker est son premier film.

Production : LLUM, Don Quichotte Films
Montage : Théophile Gay-Mazas
Mixage : Flavia Cordey
Étalonnage : Raimon Gaffier
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Corps Samples

Astrid de la Chapelle
2021France14 mn

Foedora

Judith Abensour
2021France80 mn

Incandescence des hyènes

Nicolas Matos Ichaso
2021France54 mn