#11 European Classic Documentary Film Meetings 2021

Fri 19 March 2021 | 14h00RÉEL #3
accessible to French speakers only
Book

De Cierta Manera

One Way or Another

Sara Gomez

197374 min

Sara Gómez’s first and only feature film, De Cierta Manera (One Way or Another), is a landmark in Cuban cinema, being the first feature in Cuba to be shot by a woman and one of the few made by an Afro-Cuban director. Blending documentary images with various narrative modes, the film criticises the Revolution from the inside using the form of a romantic drama. By focussing on Yolanda, a young schoolteacher, and her relationship with Mario, the film explores how racism, sexism and class prejudice threaten the Revolution’s goal of creating a truly egalitarian society. Sara Gómez died during production. The film was finished by editor Ivan Arocha, Tomás Gutiérrez Alea and other colleagues.

  • Sara Gomez: Born  in 1943 in Havana, Sara Gomez studied literature, the piano and Afro-Cuban ethnography before turning to cinema. She went on to become Cuba’s first woman director. In 1961, she enrolled in the ICAIC (Cuban Institute of Cinematographic Art and Industry) and worked notably as assistant director alongside Tomás Gutiérrez Alea, Jorge Fraga and Agnès Varda. 

  • The Arsenal: Communicating international film culture in a lively manner is both the aim and mission of Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art. Working at the point where practice and theory come together, the institute comprises a space for thinking outside the box in (film) cultural terms, a cinema whose attention is focused on independent and experimental film and a communication platform for promoting dynamic exchange between film, academia and art linked to a whole network of different organizations. The film collection is a mirror of the institution’s curatorial practice. An important part of the film holdings originate from the programming of the Berlinale Forum that is organized by Arsenal since its beginning in 1971, and the Berlinale Forum Expanded since 2006. Since 2011 the Arsenal has become increasingly dedicated to archival work. How the collection is treated remains as unorthodox as always. A film only gets meaning by being seen and remembered, not just after being restored, but already at the stage in which the decision is made as to what to do with it. For this reason, at the Arsenal every user of the archive is potentially an archivist. It is Arsenal’s policy that preservation projects also serve the purpose of making the films available in the country of production. 

Production : ICAIC – Instituto Cubano del Arte e Industria Cinematográficos
The restorer : L’Arsenal
Status : digital restoration in progress
Availability date : September 2021

You might also be interested in

La Suisse s’interroge

Henry Brandt
19645 x 4 min

Sambizanga

Sarah Maldoror
1972102 min

Marée noire et colère rouge

René Vautier
197865 min

#11 Rendez-vous européens du documentaire de patrimoine 2021

De Cierta Manera

One Way or Another

Sara Gomez

197374 min

Le premier et unique long métrage de Sara Gómez, De Cierta Manera, est une référence dans le cinéma cubain. C’est le premier long métrage tourné par une femme à Cuba et l’un des rares à avoir été réalisé par une réalisatrice afro-cubaine. Mélangeant des images documentaires avec divers modes narratifs, le film critique de l’intérieur la Révolution en cours sous la forme d’un drame romantique. En se focalisant sur Yolanda, une jeune institutrice, et sa relation avec Mario, il examine comment le racisme, le sexisme et les préjugés de classe menacent l’objectif révolutionnaire d’une société véritablement égalitaire. Sara Gómez est morte pendant la production. Le film a été achevé par le monteur Ivan Arocha, Tomás Gutiérrez Alea et d’autres collègues.

  • La réalisatrice : Née en 1943 à La Havane, Sara Gomez étudie la littérature, le piano et l’ethnographie afro-cubaine avant de s’orienter vers le cinéma. Elle devient alors la première femme réalisatrice de Cuba. En 1961, elle entre à l’ICAIC (Institut cubain de l’art et de l’industrie cinématographiques) et travaille notamment en tant qu’assistante réalisatrice au côté de Tomás Gutiérrez Alea, Jorge Fraga et Agnès Varda. 

  • Le restaurateur : Communiquer (ou “Partager”) la culture cinématographique internationale de manière vivante est à la fois le but et la mission de l’Arsenal – Institut d’art cinématographique et vidéo. Point de rencontre (ou “Travaillant à la rencontre”) entre la pratique et la théorie, l’institut comprend un espace de réflexion hors des sentiers battus dans le domaine culturel (cinématographique), un cinéma axé sur le cinéma indépendant et expérimental et une plateforme de communication visant à promouvoir un échange dynamique entre le cinéma, le milieu universitaire et l’art à travers un vaste réseau d’organismes. La pratique de conservation de l’institution est intimement liée à celle de la collection de films. Une partie importante de la collection de films provient de la programmation du Forum de la Berlinale, qui est organisé par l’Arsenal depuis ses débuts en 1971, et qui s’est élargi depuis 2006. Depuis 2011, l’Arsenal se consacre de plus en plus au travail d’archivage. La gestion de la collection reste toujours aussi peu orthodoxe. Un film n’a de sens qu’en étant vu et mémorisé, pas seulement après qu’il ait été restauré, mais déjà dans son état brut original. C’est pourquoi, à l’Arsenal, chaque utilisateur des archives est potentiellement un archiviste. La politique de l’Arsenal est que les projets de préservation servent également à rendre les films disponibles dans le pays de production.

Production : ICAIC – Instituto Cubano del Arte e Industria Cinematográficos
Restaurateur : L’Arsenal
État d’avancement : restauration numérique en cours
Date de disponibilité : septembre 2021

Dans la même section

Irlande, terre promise

Hélène Châtelain
198245 min

ROUND TABLE – Given widespread dematerialisation, the video publishing of the future,

with the participation of the Appel des 85
accessible to French speakers only

Sambizanga

Sarah Maldoror
1972102 min