#02 French Selection

Corps Samples

Astrid de la Chapelle

2021France14 mn

In 1924, a marine crinoid fossil is unearthed near the summit of Mount Everest, a famous British mountaineer disappears and a Soviet leader dies.This simultaneity is the starting point of a narrative on the transformation of matter. In a vast movement, substances metamorphose, scales and temporalities overlap and human bodies nestle in the depths of great terrestrial processes.

____

On the periphery of Corps Samples are two bodies whose state underwent a change in 1924: the frozen body of a mountaineer found near Everest 75 years after he went missing, and Lenin’s body, deceased but conserved thanks to an abundant use of petrochemicals. Two bodies that achieved, post-mortem, a symbiosis with the mineral – being fossilised, so to speak, like the marine creatures also imprinted in the rock of the Himalayas. Embodying the persistence of these brief organic lives over the geological long-term, the figure of the fossil is the focus of Astrid de la Chapelle’ reflection. Having established her starting point, she proceeds solely by juxtaposing and superimposing images. Corps Samples identifies the points of friction between the human and mineral scales, on the temporal and spatial plane. The landscapes are shaped by extractive operations – for Carrara marble or oil – dedicated to the production of artefacts that will compete with and often prevail over the natural world. The pixel itself, which is visible in certain shots, is a reminder of the minerals needed for its fabrication – the copper and zinc used for circuit boards. No doubt about it, we are well and truly in the Anthropocene age, and yet a representation of the Carboniferous – that distant geological age that we can but imagine – slips into the visual narrative. The film then curls round on itself: is it man who is looking at stone, or stone that is looking at man? 

Olivia Cooper-Hadjian

  • Astrid de la Chapelle is a French filmmaker and artist. In her films, she experiments with storytelling, particularly in relation to geology and the economic cycles of the Earth’s resources, as well as science fiction. Since 2012, she has also been playing in the group, Shrouded and the Dinner, with four other artists. Astrid’s films were screened at FID Marseille, Rencontres Internationales Paris-Berlin, the Musée d’histoire naturelle and the Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature, Echo Park Film Center, Artifact Film Festival, Her musical projects have been shown at CNAP Pantin and FRAC Normandie, as well as other music venues.

Production : Bandini Films
Cinematography, editing : Astrid de la Chapelle
Sound : Astrid de la Chapelle, Quentin Romanet
Original music : PAL
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Un mal sous son bras

Marie Ward
2021France16 mn

Un monde flottant

Jean-Claude Rousseau
2020France56 mn

Random Patrol

Yohan Guignard
2020France30 mn

#02 Sélection française

Corps Samples

Astrid de la Chapelle

2021France14 min

Au départ, il y a une simultanéité. Un fossile marin de crinoïde mis à jour près du sommet de l’Everest, un célèbre alpiniste britannique qui s’évapore et un leader russe qui s’éteint sont le point de départ d’une histoire de la transformation de la matière. Dans un vaste mouvement, les matières terrestres se brassent et se métamorphosent, les échelles et les temporalités se télescopent et les corps humains se nichent au creux des grands processus terrestres.

___

À l’orée de Corps Samples, il y a deux corps qui virent en 1924 leur état changer : celui d’un alpiniste qui sera retrouvé congelé près de l’Everest, 75 ans après sa disparition, et celui de Lénine, trépassé mais conservé à grands renforts de produits pétrochimiques. Deux corps, donc, ayant atteint post-mortem un état de symbiose avec le minéral – fossilisés, pour ainsi dire, comme ces animaux marins également imprimés dans la roche de l’Himalaya. Persistance de la brièveté des vies organiques dans la longue durée géologique, la figure du fossile concentre la réflexion d’Astrid de la Chapelle qui, une fois son point de départ posé, procède uniquement par juxtaposition et superposition d’images. Corps Samples recense les points de friction entre les échelles humaine et minérale, sur le plan temporel comme sur le plan spatial. Les paysages sont modelés par des entreprises d’extraction – de marbre à Carrare ou de pétrole – vouées à la production d’artefacts qui viendront se mesurer au monde naturel, et souvent lui faire de l’ombre. Le pixel lui-même, qui se rend visible dans certains plans, renvoie au minerai nécessaire à sa fabrication – le cuivre et le zinc des circuits imprimés. Pas de doute, nous sommes bien dans l’Anthropocène, et pourtant vient se glisser dans le récit visuel une représentation du Carbonifère, lointaine ère géologique que nous ne pouvons qu’imaginer. Le film s’enroule alors sur lui-même : est-ce l’homme qui regarde la pierre, ou la pierre qui regarde l’homme ?

Olivia Cooper-Hadjian

  • Astrid de la Chapelle est une réalisatrice et une artiste française. Elle développe dans ses films des expériences autour du récit, notamment en lien avec la géologie et les circuits économiques des ressources terrestres, mais aussi de la science-fiction. Son travail se déploie au sein de l’image en mouvement, mais également dans d’autres champs comme la musique, avec le groupe Shrouded and the Dinner depuis 2012. Ses films antété présentes entre autres au FID Marseille (FR), aux Rencontres Internationales Paris: Berlin (FR/DE), au Musée d’histoire naturelle (FR), au Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature (FR), à l’Echo Park Film Center (US), à l’Artifact Film Festival (CAN). Ses projets musicaux ont été montrés au CNAP Pantin, au FRAC Normandie et sur des scènes de musique.

Production : Bandini Films
Image, montage : Astrid de la Chapelle
Son : Astrid de la Chapelle, Quentin Romanet
Musique originale : PAL
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Un mal sous son bras

Marie Ward
2021France16 min

Avant que le ciel n’apparaisse

Denis Gheerbrant
2021France85 min

Random Patrol

Yohan Guignard
2021France30 min