#01 International Selection

Citadel

John Smith

2020United Kingdom16 mn

Filmed from the artist’s window during lockdown, a combination of fragments from British Prime Minister Boris Johnson’s speeches relating to coronavirus with views of the London skyline.  Recognising the British government’s decision to place business interests before public health, it relocates the centre of power from Parliament to the financial district of the City of London.

_______

It was only natural that the minimalist and mischievous repertoire of John Smith’s films accommodate the formal straightjacket imposed by lockdown. In keeping with the rudimentary repertoire offered by home confinement, Citadel was filmed entirely from the window of Smith’s London flat opposite the City’s financial district. A double protocol of sound and visual sampling gives him the opportunity to flip the gloomy evidence of the urban landscape onto an unexpected side of dark fantasy. Organised metronomically by the editing, changes in the weather transform the business district into a disturbing mirage, a sort of crystal castle controlled by an ill-intentioned wizard. The wizard is handled by the soundtrack, which plucks mordant excerpts from six speeches given by Boris Johnson between March and May 2020. Behind the fickle ministerial bluster, the ultraliberal obsession reveals itself for what it is: a ghost that haunts the landscape, a mechanical pulsation whose political utterances are scarcely more than a clownish alibi. The castle itself (the faceless power of finance reduced to a bunch of skyscrapers) causes the Prime Minister’s insincere voice to vibrate with its spell. All that is left of ordinary people, portrayed as docile silhouettes cooped up behind distant windows, is the naked truth of a confinement that is basically only very marginally caused by the virus.

Jérôme Momcilovic

  • John Smith was born in Walthamstow, east London, and studied film at the Royal College of Art. He has made over sixty film and video works that have been shown in independent cinemas, art galleries and on television around the world.

Production : John Smith Films
Cinematography, sound, editing : John Smith
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Les Prières de Delphine

Rosine Mbakam
2021Belgium, Cameroon90 mn

FREIZEIT or: the opposite of doing nothing

Caroline Pitzen
2021Germany71 mn

Tellurian Drama

Riar Rizaldi
2020Indonesia26 mn

#01 Sélection internationale

Citadel

John Smith

2020Royaume-Uni16 min

Filmé depuis la fenêtre de l’artiste pendant le confinement, le film associe des fragments de discours de Boris Johnson sur le coronavirus à des images du paysage urbain londonien. Conscient de la décision du gouvernement britannique de placer les intérêts économiques avant la santé de la population, John Smith déplace le centre du pouvoir en le faisant passer du Parlement au quartier financier de la City.

____

C’est tout naturellement que le répertoire minimaliste et malicieux des films de John Smith devait s’accommoder du carcan formel imposé par le lockdown. Conforme au répertoire rudimentaire offert par la réclusion domestique, Citadel a été intégralement filmé depuis la fenêtre de l’appartement que Smith occupe à Londres, face au district financier de la City. Un double protocole de sampling sonore et visuel lui offre de retourner l’évidence morne du paysage urbain sur un envers inattendu de fantasy noire. Métronomiquement organisées par le montage, les variations du climat transforment le quartier d’affaire en inquiétant mirage, une sorte de château de cristal aux mains d’un mage mal intentionné. Ledit mage est, lui, l’affaire de la bande son, qui découpe en extraits lancinants six discours prononcés par Boris Johnson entre mars et mai 2020. Derrière l’inconstance du boniment ministériel, l’idée fixe ultralibérale se donne ici pour ce qu’elle est : un spectre qui hante le paysage, une pulsation mécanique dont la parole politique n’est guère plus que l’alibi bouffon. Dans la voix insincère du Prime Minister, c’est bien le château lui-même (le pouvoir sans visage de la finance, résumé dans le bouquet de gratte-ciels) qui fait vibrer son sortilège. Ne reste alors du peuple, aperçu en silhouettes dociles parquées dans des fenêtres lointaines, que la vérité nue d’un enfermement dont le virus est une cause au fond bien marginale.

Jérôme Momcilovic

  • John Smith est né à Walthamstow, dans l’est de de Londres, et a étudié le cinéma au Royal College of Art. Il a réalisé plus de soixante films et œuvres vidéo qui ont été projetées dans différents pays, dans des cinémas indépendants, des galeries d’art, ou encore à la télévision.

Production : John Smith Films
Image, son, montage : John Smith
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Sol de Campinas

Jessica Sarah Rinland
2021Brésil26 min

End of the Season

Jason Evans
2020États-Unis13 min

FREIZEIT or: the opposite of doing nothing

Caroline Pitzen
2021Allemagne71 min