#02 French Selection

Baleh-baleh

Pascale Bodet

2021France51 mn

I give a friend a tale to read. He leaves his house, walks across the countryside, repeats the tale to himself, and arrives at the sea. And so it was that a stonecutter, who became rich, then king, then sun, then cloud, then rock, became a stonecutter once again.

_____

Once upon a time there was a stonecutter who wanted to become rich, then a king, then the sun, then a rock, before wanting to become a stonecutter once again. When filmmaker Pascale Bodet handed this philosophical tale from Asia to Laurent the carpenter, she was offering a pretext for embarking on the conversations we so often forget to hold: how do you live and how do you want to live? Mimicking the tale’s cyclic nature, the director has three feminine characters talk with Laurent, one after the other: his eldest daughter, his youngest daughter, then their mother. She gives them the role of discussion partner so that she can play the role of an active witness more effectively, contributing to the discussions with her camera movements. The tale raises questions that are sometimes taboo within a family – on work conditions and money –, and gives rise to unexpected declarations. The operational virtue of the distant fiction is highlighted by another more familiar fiction, that of the shot-reverse shot technique which reconstitutes the space of the dialogue while at the same time underlining the gap between one person and the others. A played film, in the most fun-loving sense of the term, Baleh-baleh is also a walking film. As if to progress along the path of his thoughts, Laurent advances along pathways and the beach and enters into the tale, which he reformulates and begins to inhabit, passionately embodying the different characters. But the performative movement is interrupted when Joël the chihuahua deviates from the path traced by his master and forces him to bend to its canine desires. One cannot be both carpenter and king.

Olivia Cooper-Hadjian

  • Pascale Bodet studied art history and has directed films including Six-Piece Suit(e) and Light Handling, two wry variations on the world of work, No Key, a fiction feature on the various forms of welcome, and four portraits: The Art, on an amateur gardener, Abundance, on a clam fisherman, The Square of Fortune, on the writer and actor Michel Delahaye, and Nearly a Century, on her grandma and her grandma’s neighbor. Baleh-baleh is the portrait of one of her friends.

Production : Pascale Bodet, Les Films du Carry (Michèle Soulignac)
Cinematography : Pascale Bodet
Sound : Benjamin Laurent
Editing : Pascale Bodet, Agnès Bruckert, Serge Bozon
Original music : Olaf Hund
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

Random Patrol

Yohan Guignard
2020France30 mn

Avant que le ciel n’apparaisse

Denis Gheerbrant
2021France85 min

VENICE BEACH, CA.

Marion Naccache
2021France79 mn

#02 Sélection française

Baleh-baleh

Pascale Bodet

2021France51 min

À un ami, je donne à lire un conte. Il sort de sa maison, parcourt la campagne, se répète le conte à voix haute, rejoint la mer. Et c’est ainsi qu’un tailleur de pierre, devenu successivement riche, roi, soleil, nuage, roc, redevient tailleur de pierre.

___

Il était une fois un tailleur de pierre qui voulut devenir riche, puis roi, puis soleil, puis roc, avant de souhaiter redevenir tailleur de pierre. En mettant entre les mains de Laurent, menuisier, un conte philosophique asiatique, Pascale Bodet fournit un prétexte à des discussions que l’on oublie trop souvent d’engager : comment vit-on et comment voudrait-on vivre ? Mimant le caractère cyclique du conte, la metteuse en scène fait se succéder auprès du menuisier trois personnages féminins : sa fille aînée, sa fille cadette, puis leur mère. Elle leur confie le rôle d’interlocutrices pour mieux jouer celui de témoin actif, infléchissant les discussions des mouvements de sa caméra. Le conte suscite des questionnements parfois tabous au sein d’une famille – sur les conditions de travail et l’argent –, génère des déclarations inattendues. La vertu opérante de la fiction lointaine est mise en exergue par une autre plus familière, celle du champ-contrechamp qui reconstitue l’espace du dialogue tout en soulignant un décalage entre l’un et les autres. Film joué, au sens le plus ludique du terme, Baleh-baleh est aussi un film marché. Comme pour faire cheminer sa pensée, Laurent avance sur les sentiers et sur la plage, entre dans le conte, qu’il reformule et se met à habiter, incarnant avec fougue les différents personnages. Mais le mouvement performatif est interrompu lorsque Joël le chihuahua dévie de la route tracée par son maître et le force à s’accorder à ses désirs. On ne peut être à la fois menuisier et roi.

Olivia Cooper-Hadjian

  • Pascale Bodet a fait des études d’histoire de l’art et a réalisé, entre autres, Complet 6 pièces et Manutention légère, deux variations burlesques sur le monde du travail, Porte sans clef, une fiction sur les différents modes d’accueil chez soi, L’Art, le portrait d’un jardinier amateur, L’Abondance, celui d’un pêcheur de palourdes, Le Carré de la fortune, celui de Michel Delahaye, Presque un siècle, celui de sa mamie et de son voisin. Baleh-baleh est le portrait d’un de ses amis.

Production : Pascale Bodet, Michèle Soulignac (Les Films du Carry)
Image : Pascale Bodet
Son : Benjamin Laurent
Montage : Pascale Bodet, Agnès Bruckert, Serge Bozon
Musique originale : Olaf Hund
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Silabario

Marine de Contes
2021France14 min

Saxifrages, quatre nuits blanches

Nicolas Klotz et Elisabeth Perceval
2021France74 min