#01 International Selection

Armour

Sandro Aguilar

2020Portugal, Canada30 mn

Hector’s father was sick and died. His girlfriend left him for an older guy, went back to her parents house taking their eleven-year-old son to meet his new dad. Hector was drunk-stiff. He happened to be wearing a light-cavalry armour he had borrowed from a paramedic he knew. There was a medieval party going on and the town was on fire.

___

Hector finds himself alone, mourning his father and missing his son who has been whisked away by his former girlfriend. This is what we learn from the title cards that introduce the wanderings of Armour, a spiralling path through the towns of east Quebec and their surroundings, along the banks of the Saint-Laurent river. Sandro Aguilar captures with astounding grace a sublimely banal world: small houses in monotonous suburbs as night falls, forests waking up, blue nights, streams under bridges and people passing by. Where do these bit players come from? Who are they writing to? Are they angry, drunk or appeased? Indicating places with titles, the film furtively imagines their stories. But the journey that is depicted shot by shot, is it Hector’s? The indications mislead rather than guide, and take us into an enigmatic filmed diary. What, in fact, does it tell us about Hector? Is it his environment that is expanding? The one that has made him as he is? Or is it the itinerary of his floating gaze? A solitary car drives out of the forest at dawn, telephone booths come to life, suddenly a worrying suspense comes to nestle in the boredom. And all this sad gentleness seems to tell us that Hector is going to explode. Despite the bleak, bare suburbs, symptoms of a locked world, under the strolling armour, a large disillusioned fire is leading to an imminent disaster. Armour is a strange country, in suspended time, where a man has lost his way. 

Clémence Arrivé

  • Born in 1974 in Portugal, Sandro Aguilar studied film at the Escola Superior de Teatro e Cinema. In 1998 he founded the production company O Som e a Fúria. His films have won awards at festivals, such as La Biennale di Venezia, Gijón, Oberhausen and Vila do Conde, and have been shown in Torino, Belfort, Montreal, Clermont-Ferrand among others. Retrospectives of his work have been programmed at Rotterdam IFF and BAFICI.

Production : Sandro Aguilar, Luis Urbano (O Som e a Fúria), Valérie Mongrain (Paraloeil)
Cinematography, editing : Sandro Aguilar
Sound : Robin Servant, Nicolas Lachapelle
Press Kit

You might also be interested in

The Filmmaker’s House

Marc Isaacs
2020United Kingdom75 mn

Faraway My Shadow Wandered

Liao Jiekai
Sudhee Liao
2020Singapore, Taiwan, Japan70 mn

Taming the Garden

Salomé Jashi
2021Switzerland, Germany, Georgia92 mn

#01 Sélection internationale

Armour

Sandro Aguilar

2020Portugal, Canada30 min

Le père d’Hector, qui souffrait d’une maladie, est mort. Sa compagne l’a quitté pour un autre homme, plus âgé que lui, et elle est retournée chez ses parents en emmenant avec elle leur fils de 11 ans afin que celui-ci rencontre son nouveau père. Hector boit jusqu’à l’ivresse. Il se trouve qu’il porte une armure de cavalerie légère empruntée à un ami infirmier. Dans la ville, la fête médiévale bat son plein.

___

Hector se retrouve seul, en deuil de son père et en manque de son fils embarqué par son ex-compagne. C’est ce que nous expose un carton introductif à l’errance que sera Armour, chemin volute dans des villes de l’Est québécois et leurs environs, au bord du fleuve Saint-Laurent. Sandro Aguilar saisit avec une grâce inouïe un monde sublimement banal : les pavillons des banlieues monotones à la tombée de la nuit, les forêts qui se réveillent, les nuits bleues, les ruisseaux sous les ponts et les gens qui passent. D’où viennent ces figurants des villes ordinaires ? A qui écrivent-ils ? Sont-ils en colère, ivres ou apaisés ? Par des indications de lieux inscrites à l’écran, le film imagine furtivement leurs histoires. Mais ce voyage qui se dessine plan par plan, est-ce celui d’Hector ? Les indications égarent plus qu’elles ne guident et nous engagent dans un énigmatique journal filmé. Que peut-il bien nous raconter d’Hector ? Est-ce son environnement qui s’étend ? Celui qui l’a rendu tel qu’il est ? Ou est-ce l’itinéraire de son regard flottant ? Une voiture solitaire sort de la forêt à l’aube, des cabines téléphoniques s’animent, soudain un suspense inquiétant vient se nicher dans l’ennui. Et toute cette douceur triste semble nous dire qu’Hector va exploser. Malgré les banlieues nues et sans apprêts symptomatiques d’un monde tenu, sous l’armure (armour) qui déambule, un grand feu désenchanté mène à un désastre imminent. Armour est un pays étrange, dans un temps suspendu, où s’est perdu un homme. 

Clémence Arrivé

  • Né en 1974 au Portugal, Sandor Aguilar a étudié le cinéma à l’Escola Superior de Teatro e Cinema. En 1998, il a fondé la maison de production O Som e a Fúria. Son œuvre a été primée à des festivals tels que La Biennale de Venise, les festivals de Gijón, d’Oberhausen et de Vila do Conde, et a été projetée à Turin, Belfort, Montréal, Clermont-Ferrand, entre autres villes. Des rétrospectives de son œuvre ont été organisées au FIF de Rotterdam et au BAFICI.

Production : Sandro Aguilar, Luis Urbano (O Som e a Fúria), Valérie Mongrain (Paraloeil)
Image, montage : Sandro Aguilar
Son : Robin Servant, Nicolas Lachapelle
Press Kit

Dans la même section

Taming the Garden

Salomé Jashi
2021Suisse, Allemagne, Géorgie92 min

A River Runs, Turns, Erases, Replaces

Shengze Zhu
2021États-Unis87 min

End of the Season

Jason Evans
2020États-Unis13 min