Pour un autre 68 : Nam

  • Carlos Bustamante
  • 1968
    • Germany
  • 5 min

“De oppresso liber” is the motto of the special unit of the US Army – the so-called Green Berets – and means "to liberate the oppressed". Carlos Bustamante's film is an agitprop pamphlet against the Vietnam War, edited in a staccato rhythm bursting like a machine gun.

lire la suite...
  • Joao Silvério Trevisan
  • 1969
    • Brazil
  • 15 min

A short film produced between September and October 1969, during the Brazilian military dictatorship. Its authorship remained anonymous for a long time and the precariousness of the production was due to its clandestinity. This guerrilla film is a collage of images from newspapers and broadcasts showing confrontations of young people...

lire la suite...
  • Carolee Schneemann
  • 1965
    • United States
  • 7 min

Viet Flakes was composed from an obsessive collection of Vietnam atrocity images, compiled over five years, from foreign magazines and newspapers. Schneemann uses the 8mm camera to "travel" within the photographs, producing a volatile animation. Broken rhythms and visual fractures are heightened by a sound collage by James Tenney, which features...

lire la suite...
  • Jack Chambers
  • 1966
    • Canada
  • 15 min

“The polarity of life and death, still and motion, courses throughout the film until its final eruption into color drafts between a war-scarred generation of Vietnamese children and a flowering London stalk. A defiantly personal response to a war whose images haunted the public imagery of the 1960s, Hybrid stands in answer...

lire la suite...
  • Harun Farocki
  • 1968
    • Germany
  • 4 min

“The tactic of the film was to take a Pietà image like that in the newspaper with its static statement of depoliticised moral tragedy and inject it with dynamism.” – Quinn Slobodian

lire la suite...
  • Peter Nestler
  • 1968
    • Sweden
  • 10 min

“A short pamphlet based on a text by Peter Weiss and on the contrapuntal use of the relation between image and sound. The commercial activities and fantasies linked to tourism in Sweden are contradicted by the geopolitics of capitalist imperialism, in particular with the war in Vietnam. In his first...

lire la suite...
  • Walter de Maria
  • 1969
    • United States
  • 27 min

“By introducing figures associated with the violence of conquest and by working to extend the perception of the landscape beyond geographical limitations, De Maria prepares, unbeknownst to us, the apparition in plain sight of what is unfurling, at the same time, on the other side of the Pacific. Not a...

lire la suite...

Pour un autre 68 : Nam

  • Carlos Bustamante
  • 1968
    • Allemagne
  • 5 min

« De oppresso liber », la devise des forces spéciales de l’US Army (surnommées les « bérets verts »), signifie « libérer l’opprimé ». Avec son montage réalisé sur un rythme staccato évoquant les rafales d’une mitrailleuse, le film de Carlos Bustamante constitue un véritable pamphlet agitprop contre la Guerre du Vietnam.

lire la suite...
  • Joao Silvério Trevisan
  • 1969
    • Brésil
  • 15 min

Un court métrage produit entre septembre et octobre 1969, pendant la dictature militaire au Brésil. Longtemps resté anonyme, il doit la fragilité de sa production à sa clandestinité. Ce film-guérilla est un collage de photographies issues de journaux et de reportages télévisés montrant les affrontements entre la jeunesse et la...

lire la suite...
  • Carolee Schneemann
  • 1965
    • États-Unis
  • 7 min

Viet Flakes a été réalisé à partir de la collecte obsessionnelle de photographies représentant des atrocités commises au Vietnam, tirées de magazines et de journaux étrangers et rassemblées sur plus de cinq ans. Schneeman utilise le format 8 mm pour « voyager » au sein des photographies, créant ainsi une animation explosive. Les...

lire la suite...
  • Jack Chambers
  • 1966
    • Canada
  • 15 min

« L’opposition entre la vie et la mort, l’immobile et le mouvant, parcourt l’ensemble du film, jusqu’à l’explosion finale qui intègre des séquences en couleur et fait contraster une génération d’enfants vietnamiens défigurés par la guerre avec la floraison d’une plante à Londres. Réaction personnelle révoltée à une guerre dont les...

lire la suite...
  • Harun Farocki
  • 1968
    • Allemagne
  • 4 min

« La stratégie du film est de prendre une image de Pietà comme celle qu’on trouverait dans un journal, qui représente de manière statique une tragédie morale dépolitisée, et d’y insuffler du dynamisme ». – Quinn Slobodian

lire la suite...
  • Peter Nestler
  • 1968
    • Suède
  • 10 min

« Un court pamphlet basé sur un texte de Peter Weiss et sur la relation contrapuntique entre l’image et le son. Les activités commerciales et les fantasmes générés par le tourisme en Suède contrastent ici avec les stratégies géopolitiques de l’impérialisme capitaliste, et plus particulièrement avec la guerre du Vietnam. Dans...

lire la suite...
  • Walter de Maria
  • 1969
    • États-Unis
  • 27 min

« En intégrant des personnages associés à la violence de la conquête et en cherchant à étendre la perception du paysage par-delà les limites géographiques, De Maria prépare à notre insu la révélation au grand jour de ce qui se déroule au même moment de l’autre côté du Pacifique : non...

lire la suite...